The Chief Minister of Jharkhand serves as the chief executive of the Indian state of Jharkhand. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor holds the legal status as head of state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. Following elections to the Legislative Assembly, the Governor of the state usually invites the majority party (or coalition) to form a government and the Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively answerable to the Assembly.

Jharkhand's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current chief ministerChampai Soren
Political partyJharkhand Mukti Morcha
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date2 February 2024
First chief ministerBabulal Marandi

Current Chief Minister of Jharkhand 2024

Champai Soren is an Indian politician and currently the 7th Chief Minister of Jharkhand since February 2024, following the arrest of former Chief Minister Hemant Soren by the Enforcement Directorate (ED). He is a member of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and represents Seraikela assembly constituency as an MLA. He has worked in politics together with Shibu Soren. He was elected MLA from Seraikela assembly constituency five times. In 1995, Champai Soren became MLA from Seraikela for the first time in the 11th Bihar Assembly. After Jharkhand became a separate state in 2000, he became the MLA from Seraikela in the second Jharkhand Assembly in 2005.

Elected as MLA from Seraikela in the 3rd Jharkhand Assembly in 2009, he held the charge of Cabinet Minister of Science and Technology, Labor and Housing from 11 September 2010 to 18 January 2013 and Cabinet Minister of Food and Civil Supplies, Transport from 13 July 2013 to 28 December 2014. In 2014, he once again became MLA from Seraikela in the fourth Jharkhand Assembly. In 2019, he held the post of MLA from Seraikela in the fifth Jharkhand Assembly and Cabinet Minister for Transport, Scheduled Tribes, Scheduled Castes and Backward Classes Welfare. Champai Soren of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha is the current Chief Minister.

History of Chief Minister of Jharkhand

Six people have served as Chief Minister of Jharkhand since its formation on 15 November 2000. The first Chief Minister of Jharkhand was Babulal Marandi from the Bharatiya Janata Party. After him, Arjun Munda became the second Chief Minister of Jharkhand, along with this he is the longest serving Chief Minister of Jharkhand, he served for more than five years in three terms, but never completed the full term.

The two chief ministers, Shibu Soren and his son Hemant Soren, represent the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) party. Shibu Soren's first term ended in just ten days, as he could not prove that he had the support of the majority of the House and was forced to resign. The state has also been ruled by Madhu Koda, who is one of the few independent MLAs to become the Chief Minister of any state. The state has also been under President's rule thrice during his reign.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Jharkhand (2000-2024)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Jharkhand CM from 2000 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerTake overDischargeParty/political party
Babulal Marandi15 November 200017 March 2003Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Arjun Munda18 March 200301 March 2005Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Shibu Soren02 March 200511 March 2005JMM
Arjun Munda12 March 200514 September 2006Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Madhu Koda18 September 200624 August 2008Independent
Shibu Soren27 August 200818 January 2009JMM

President's Rule (19 January 2009-12 January 2009)

Shibu Soren30 December 200931 May 2010JMM

President's Rule (1 June 2010-10 September 2010)

Arjun Munda11 September 201018 January 2013Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

President's Rule (18 January 2013-13 July 2013)

Hemant Soren13 July 201323 December 2014Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Raghuvar Das28 December 201428 December 2019Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Hemant Soren28 December 201931 January 2024Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Champai Soren2 February 2024Till nowJharkhand Mukti Morcha

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  18196
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States