The Chief Minister of Punjab is the head of the Government of Punjab. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor of Punjab is the head of state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Punjab Legislative Assembly, the Governor usually invites the majority party to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly. Given that he enjoys the confidence of the Assembly, the tenure of the Chief Minister is five years.

Punjab's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

CurrentChiefMinisterBhagwantMannPoliticalpartyIndianNationalCongressTerm of office5 yearsOathtakingdate16September2021FirstchiefministerGopiChandBhargava

Current Chief Minister of Punjab 2023

Bhagwant Singh Mann is an Indian politician who is the 17th and current Chief Minister of Punjab. He has been an elected member of the Seventeenth Lok Sabha from Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency of Punjab. Earlier, he was also elected to the Sixteenth Lok Sabha from the same constituency in the 2014 elections. He is a member of Aam Aadmi Party.

History of Chief Minister of Punjab

Punjab state was formed in 1947. There have been fifteen Chief Ministers in Punjab since 1947. The first Chief Minister of Punjab was Gopi Chand Bhargava of the Indian National Congress party. After his resignation in 1956, Pratap Singh Kairon became the Chief Minister. He was one of the longest serving Chief Ministers of Punjab until 1964. Ram Kishan took charge in July 1964 and served for two years. Gurnam Singh became the first non-Congress Chief Minister in 1967.

There was a brief interregnum under the leadership of Surjit Singh Barnala, after which three Congress-led governments took power – led by Beant Singh from 1992 to 1995, by Harcharan Singh Brar from 1995 to 1996, and by Rajinder Kaur Bhattal from 1996 to 1997. In. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal became the first woman Chief Minister of Punjab and the 8th woman Chief Minister of India overall.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Punjab CM from 1947 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake overDischargeParty/political party
1Gopi Chand Bhargava15 August 194713 April 1949Congress
2Bhim Sen SacharApril 13, 1949October 18, 1949Congress
3Gopi Chand Bhargava18 October, 194920 June, 1951Congress

President's Rule (June 20, 1951 to April 17, 1952)

4Bhim Sen SacharApril 17, 1952January 23, 1956Congress
5Pratap Singh Kairon23 January 195621 June 1964Congress
6Gopi Chand BhargavaJune 21, 1964July 6, 1964Congress
7Ram Kishan07 July 196405 July 1966Congress

President's Rule (July 5, 1966 to November 1, 1966)

8Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir01 November 196608 March 1967Congress
9Gurnam SinghMarch 08, 1967November 25, 1967Shiromani Akali Dal
10Laxman Singh Gill25 November 196723 August 1968Shiromani Akali Dal

President's Rule (23 August 1968 to 17 February 1969)

11Gurnam SinghFebruary 17, 1969March 27, 1970Shiromani Akali Dal
12Parkash Singh BadalMarch 27, 1970June 14, 1971Shiromani Akali Dal

President's Rule (June 14, 1971 to March 17, 1972)

13Zail SinghMarch 17, 1972April 30, 1977Congress

President's Rule (30 April 1977 to 20 June 1977)

14Parkash Singh BadalJune 20, 1977February 17, 1980Shiromani Akali Dal

President's Rule (17 February 1980 to 6 June 1980)

15Darbara SinghJune 6, 1980October 10, 1983Congress

President's Rule (October 10, 1983 to September 29, 1985)

16Surjit Singh Barnala29 September 198511 June 1987Shiromani Akali Dal

President's Rule (June 11, 1987 to February 25, 1992)

17Beant Singh25 February 199231 August 1995Congress
18Harcharan Singh Brar31 August 199521 January 1996Congress
19Rajinder Kaur BhattalJanuary 21, 1996February 11, 1997Congress
20Parkash Singh Badal February 12, 1997February 26, 2002Shiromani Akali Dal
21Amarinder Singh26 February 200201 March 2007Congress
22Parkash Singh Badal01 March 200712 March 2017Shiromani Akali Dal
23Capt Amarinder SinghMarch 16, 2017September 16, 2021Congress
24Charanjit Singh ChanniSeptember 16, 202115 Mar 2022Congress
25Bhagwant Mann16 Mar 2022PresentAam Aadmi Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  17379
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States