The Chief Minister of Goa is the head of government of the state of Goa in western India. The Governor of Goa is the state's judiciary, but the real executive authority is the Chief Minister. After elections to the Goa Assembly, the Governor usually invites the majority party to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Cabinet is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Goa's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterPramod Sawant
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Term of office5 years
Date of taking oath18 March 2019
First Chief MinisterDayanand Bandodkar Goa

Current Chief Minister of Goa 2023

Pramod Pandurang Sawant is an Indian politician and Ayurveda physician, serving as the 13th and current Chief Minister of Goa since 2019. Before being sworn in as Chief Minister after the death of Manohar Parrikar, he served as the Speaker of the Goa Assembly. He stood on the Bharatiya Janata Party ticket in the 2008 by-election for the Pale constituency, but he lost to Pratab Prabhakar Gauns of the Indian National Congress. In the 2012 assembly elections, he contested from Sanquelim constituency and defeated Pratap Prabhakar Gauns by 14,255 votes. On March 28, 2022, Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa for the second consecutive time along with other eight cabinet ministers.

History of Chief Minister of Goa

Goa attained full statehood in 1963. Since then, thirteen people have served as Chief Minister of the state of Goa. Dayanand Bandodkar was the first Chief Minister of Goa, after whom his daughter Shashikala Kakodkar became the only woman Chief Minister of Goa. Pratapsingh Rane of the Indian National Congress is the longest serving office-bearer, having served for over 15 years in four different terms. The current incumbent is Pramod Sawant of the Bharatiya Janata Party, who was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa for the fourth time.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Goa (1963-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Goa CM from 1963 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterDischargeDischargeParty/political party
Dayanand BandodkarDecember 20, 1963December 02, 1966Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP)

President's Rule (December 2, 1966-5 April, 1967)

Dayanand Bandodkar05 April 196712 August 1973Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP)
Shashikala KakodkarAugust 12, 1973April 27, 1979Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP)
President's Rule27 April 197916 January 1980
Pratap Singh RaneJanuary 16, 1980March 27, 1990(INC) (U)
Churchill AlmaoMarch 27, 1990April 14, 1990Progressive Democratic Front
Dr. Luis Proto BarbosaApril 14, 1990December 14, 1990Progressive Democratic Front

President's Rule (April 27, 1979-16 January, 1980)

Ravi S. NaikJanuary 25, 1991May 18, 1993Congress
Dr. Wilfred D'SouzaMay 18, 1993April 02, 1994Congress
Ravi S. NaikApril 02, 1994April 08, 1994Congress
Dr. Wilfred D'SouzaApril 08, 1994December 16, 1994Congress
Pratap Singh RaneDecember 16, 1994July 30, 1998Congress
Dr. Wilfred D'Souza30 July 199826 November 1998Goa Rajiv Congress
Luizinho FaleiroNovember 26, 1998February 09, 1999Congress

President's Rule (December 14, 1990 - January 25, 1991)

Luizinho FaleiroJune 09, 1999November 24, 1999Congress
Francisco SardinhaNovember 24, 1999October 24, 2000Goa People's Congress
Manohar ParrikarOctober 24, 2000February 02, 2005Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Pratap Singh Rane02 February 200504 March 2005Congress

President's Rule (February 09, 1999-9 June, 1999)

Pratap Singh Rane07 June 200508 June 2007Congress
Digambar KamatJune 8, 2007March 09, 2012Congress
Manohar Parrikar March 09, 2012November 08, 2014Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Laxmikant ParsekarNovember 08, 2014March 14, 2017Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Manohar Parrikar14 March 201717 March 2019Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Pramod SawantMarch 18, 2017To the presentBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  16038
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States