The Chief Minister of the Indian state of Assam is the head of the Government of Assam. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Assam Legislative Assembly, the Governor usually invites the majority party to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Assam's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterHimanta Biswa Sarma
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date10 May 2021
First Chief MinisterGopinath Bordoloi

Current Chief Minister of Assam 2023

Himanta Biswa Sarma is an Indian politician and lawyer serving as the 15th and current Chief Minister of Assam since 2021. Sarma joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on 23 August 2015. He has been elected member of the Assam Legislative Assembly five times from Jalukbari. He also served as a minister in the Government of Assam from 2016 to 2021, 2011 to 2014, 2006 to 2011, 2002 to 2004 and 2004 to 2006. Sarma was the Vice-President of the Badminton Association of India from 2002 to 2016, and was re-elected as the President of the Badminton Association of India for a second four-year term from 2022 to 2026.

History of Chief Minister of Assam

Assam has had a total of 17 Chief Ministers since its formation in 1946. Gopinath Bordoloi was elected as the first Chief Minister of the state of Assam. Tarun Gogoi is the longest serving person in the post, serving for 15 years from 2001 to 2016. In 2016, Sarbananda Sonowal became the first Chief Minister of Assam from the Bharatiya Janata Party. On 9 May 2021, Himanta Biswa Sarma was declared the 15th Chief Minister of Assam.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1947-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Assam CM from 1947 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake overDischargeParty/political party
Gopinath Bordoloi 11 February 19466 August 1950Indian National Congress
Vishnu Ram Medhi9 August 195027 December 1957Indian National Congress
Bimla Prasad Chaliha28 December 19576 November 1970 Indian National Congress
Mahendra Mohan Choudhary11 November 197030 January 1972Indian National Congress
Sarat Chandra Sinha31 January 197212 March 1978 Indian National Congress
Golap Borbora12 March 19784 September 1979Janata Party
Jogendra Nath Hazarika9 September 197911 December 1979Janata Dal

President's Rule (12 December 1979 to 5 December 1980)

Anover Taimur6 December 198030 June 1981 Indian National Congress

President's Rule (30 June 1981 to 13 January 1982)

Keshab Chandra Gogoi 13 January 1982 19 March 1982Indian National Congress

President's rule (from 19 March 1982 to 27 February 1983)

Hiteshwar Saikia 27 February 198323 December 1985Indian National Congress
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta24 December 198528 November 1990Asom Gana Parishad

President's Rule (28 November 1990 to 30 June 1991)

Hiteshwar Saikia30 June 1991 22 April 1996Indian National Congress
Bhuminder Burman22 April 199614 May 1996Indian National Congress
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 15 May 199617 May 2001Asom Gana Parishad
Tarun Gogoi 17 May 200124 May 2016 Indian National Congress
Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 201610 May 2021Bharatiya Janata Party
Himanta Biswa SarmaMay 10, 2021PostedBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  19086
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States