The Chief Minister of Haryana is the chief executive of the Indian state of Haryana. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Haryana Legislative Assembly, the Governor of the state usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, to whom his Council of Ministers is collectively responsible.

Haryana's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterManohar Lal Khattar
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date27 October 2020
First Chief MinisterBhagwat Dayal Sharma

Current Chief Minister of Haryana 2023

Manohar Lal Khattar is an Indian politician serving as the 10th and current Chief Minister of Haryana since 2014. He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a former RSS pracharak. Khattar joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in 1977 and became a full-time pracharak three years later. Before joining BJP in 1994, he worked as a full-time campaigner for 14 years. During 2000–2014, Khattar was the organizational general secretary of the BJP in Haryana.

History of Chief Minister of Haryana

Haryana as a state came into existence on 1 November 1966 under the Punjab Reorganization Act (1966). Ten people have served as Chief Minister of Haryana since 1966. List of first Chief Ministers of all states of India First Chief Minister B.K. It was D. Sharma. Bhajan Lal Bishnoi was the longest serving Chief Minister of Haryana; He remained on this post for 11 years and 10 months (4317 days).

Bansilal remained on this post for 4268 days. Devilal was the fifth Chief Minister of Haryana, he served as Deputy Prime Minister of India twice under Prime Ministers VP Singh and Chandra Shekhar. Om Prakash Chautala has served the most consecutive terms (four) as Chief Minister as a member of three parties. The outgoing Chief Minister is Manohar Lal Khattar, the first BJP official, who was sworn in on 26 October 2014.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Haryana (1966-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Haryana CM from 1966 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
1Bhagwat Dayal Sharma01 November 196623 March 1967Indian National Congress
2Rao Virendra Singh24 March 196702 November 1967Vishal Haryana Party

President's Rule (2 November 1967 - 22 May 1968)

3Bansilal22 May 196830 November 1975Indian National Congress
4Banarasi Das Gupta01 December 197530 April 1977Indian National Congress

President's Rule (30 April 1977 - 21 June 1977)

5Chaudhary Devi Lal21 June 197728 June 1979Janata Party
6Bansilal29 June 197922 January 1980Janata Party
6Bansilal22 January 198005 July 1985Indian National Congress
7Bansilal05 July 198519 June 1987Indian National Congress
8Chaudhary Devi Lal17 July 19872 December 1989Janata Dal
9Om Prakash Chautala02 December 198922 May 1990Janata Dal
10Banarasi Das Gupta22 May 199012 July 1990Janata Dal
11Om Prakash Chautala12 July 199017 July 1990Janata Dal
12Hukam Singh17 July 199021 March 1991Janata Dal
13Om Prakash Chautala22 March 199106 April 1991Samajwadi Janata Party

President's Rule (6 April 1991 - 23 July 1991)

14Bhajan Lal23 July 199109 May 1996Indian National Congress
15Bansilal11 May 199623 July 1999Haryana Vikas Party
16Om Prakash Chautala 24 July 199904 March 2005Indian National Lok Dal
17Bhupinder Singh Hooda 05 March 200524 October 2009Indian National Congress
18Bhupinder Singh Hooda25 October 200919 October 2014Indian National Congress
19Manohar Lal Khattar26 October 2014October 2020Bharatiya Janata Party
19Manohar Lal Khattar27 October 2020So farBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  13955
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States