The Chief Minister of Rajasthan is the chief executive of the Indian state of Rajasthan. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, the Governor of the state usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Rajasthan's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterBhajan Lal Sharma
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date15 December 2023
First Chief MinisterHira Lal Shastri

Current Chief Minister of Rajasthan 2023

Bhajan Lal Sharma is an Indian politician currently serving as the 14th Chief Minister of Rajasthan from December 2023. He is a member of the 16th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly and represents Sanganer constituency. Sharma started his political career from his school days through the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, the student wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. Sharma contested the 2003 assembly election from Nadbai assembly constituency of Bharatpur on a Rajasthan Samajik Nyay Manch (RSNM) ticket and finished fifth, getting just over 5,900 votes and with 6.28% vote share his deposit was forfeited . After the 2023 Rajasthan Legislative Assembly election, he was elected as the MLA from Sanganer Assembly constituency.

He was elected as MLA from Sanganer assembly constituency in Rajasthan Assembly elections 2023. He won the position by defeating Indian National Congress candidate Pushpendra Bhardwaj by a margin of 48,081 votes. On December 12, 2023, he was elected as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan by the Bharatiya Janata Party. Along with this, two Deputy Chief Ministers Diya Kumari and Premchand Bairwa have also been elected by the party.

History of Chief Minister of Rajasthan

Since the formation of Rajasthan state on 30 March 1949, 14 people have held the post of Chief Minister of Rajasthan. The first Chief Minister of Rajasthan was Hira Lal Shastri. Vasundhara Raje Scindia is the only woman to serve as the Chief Minister of a state and held the position for a full 5 years. Mohan Lal Sukhadia is the longest serving Chief Minister of Rajasthan. Bhajan Lal Sharma of the Bharatiya Janata Party took over as the 14th Chief Minister of the state after winning 115 seats in the 2023 assembly elections.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Rajasthan (1949-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Rajasthan CM from 1949 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freePolitical party
Hira Lal Shastri07 April 194905 January 1951Indian National Congress
CS Venkatachari06 January 195125 April 1951Indian National Congress
Jai Narayan Vyas26 April 195103 March 1952Indian National Congress
Tika Ram Paliwal03 March 195231 October 1952Indian National Congress
Jai Narayan Vyas01 November 195212 November 1954Indian National Congress
Mohan Lal Sukhadia13 November 195411 April 1957Indian National Congress
Mohan Lal Sukhadia11 April 195711 March 1962Indian National Congress
Mohan Lal Sukhadia12 March 196213 March 1967Indian National Congress

President's Rule (13 March 1967 to 26 April 1967)

Mohan Lal Sukhadia26 April 196709 July 1971Indian National Congress
Barkatullah Khan09 July 197111 August 1973Indian National Congress
Hari Dev Joshi11 August 197329 April 1977Indian National Congress

President's Rule (29 August 1973 to 22 June 1977)

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat22 June 197716 February 1980Janata Party

President's rule (from 16 March 1980 to 6 June 1980)

Jagannath Pahaiya06 June 198013 July 1981Indian National Congress
Shiv Chandra Mathur14 July 198123 February 1985Indian National Congress
Hira Lal Devpura23 February 198510 March 1985Indian National Congress
Hari Dev Joshi10 March 198520 January 1988Indian National Congress
Shiv Chandra Mathur20 January 198804 December 1989Indian National Congress
Hari Dev Joshi04 December 198904 March 1990Indian National Congress
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat04 March 199015 December 1992Bharatiya Janata Party

President's rule (from 15 December 1992 to 4 December 1993)

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat04 December 199329 December 1998Bharatiya Janata Party
Ashok Gehlot01 December 199808 December 2003Indian National Congress
Vasundhara Raje Scindia08 December 200311 December 2008Bharatiya Janata Party
Ashok Gehlot12 December 200813 December 2013Indian National Congress
Vasundhara Raje Scindia13 December 201316 December 2018Bharatiya Janata Party
Ashok Gehlot17 December 201815 December 2023Indian National Congress
Bhajan Lal Sharma 15 December 2023PostedBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  16335
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States