The Chief Minister of Maharashtra is the head of the executive branch of the government of the state of Maharashtra, India. After the Legislative Assembly elections, the Governor invites the majority party to form the government and appoints the Chief Minister. If the appointee is not a member of the Legislative Assembly or Legislative Council of Maharashtra, the Constitution stipulates that they must be elected within six months of taking the oath. The office of the CM is concurrent with that of the Legislative Assembly, provided the Chief Minister enjoys the confidence of the House and hence cannot hold office for more than five years.

Maharashtra's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterEknath Shinde
Political PartyShiv sena
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date30 Jun 2022
First Chief MinisterYashwantrao Chavan

Current Chief Minister of Maharashtra 2023

Eknath Sambhaji Shinde is an Indian politician serving as the 20th and current Chief Minister of Maharashtra since 30 June 2022. Shinde has also been serving as the leader of Shiv Sena since February 2023 and the leader of the House of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly since July 2022. He is also a member of the Legislative Assembly for the Kopri-Pachpakhadi constituency of Thane, Maharashtra since 2009 and was formerly the MLA of the Thane constituency from 2004 to 2009.

He was previously the Cabinet Minister of Urban Development and Public Works and State Border Defense in the cabinet of Uddhav Thackeray from 2019 to 2022 and the Cabinet Minister of Public Works and Public Health and Family Welfare in the Devendra Fadnavis ministry from 2014 to 2019. Balasahebuchhi has been the leader of Shiv Sena from 2022 to 2023 and the 25th leader of opposition in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from 2014 to 2014.

History of Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Maharashtra was formed on 1 May 1960 by disintegrating Bombay State and Hyderabad State. Yashwantrao Chavan was the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He belonged to the Indian National Congress and held the position until the 1962 assembly elections. Vasantrao Naik was the longest serving CM of Maharashtra from 1963 to 1975 (11 years). Eknath Sambhaji Shinde is the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He was elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly for 4 consecutive terms in 2004, 2009, 2014 and 2019.

So far, President's rule has been imposed in the state three times: first from February to June 1980 and from September 2014 to till October. It was reinstated on 12 November 2019. The current office bearer from 30 June 2022 is Eknath Shinde of Shiv Sena.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra (1960-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Maharashtra CM from 1960 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Serial numberName of chief ministerTake overDischargeParty/political party
1Yashwantrao Chavan01 May 196019 November 1962Congress
2Marotrao Kannamvar20 November 196224 November 1963Congress
2P.K. Sawant25 November 196304 December 1963Congress
3Vasantrao Nayak05 December 196301 March 1967Congress
3Vasantrao Nayak01 March 196713 March 1972Congress
3Vasantrao Nayak13 March 197220 February 1975Congress
4Shankarrao Chavan21 February 197516 April 1977Congress
5Vasantdada Patil17 April 197702 March 1978Congress
5Vasantdada Patil07 March 197818 July 1978Congress
6Sharad Pawar18 July 197817 February 1980

President's Rule (17 February 1980 to 08 June 1980)

7Abdul Rehman Antulay09 June 198012 January 1982Congress
8Babasaheb Bhosale21 January 198201 February 1983Congress
9Babasaheb Bhosale21 January 198201 June 1985Congress
10Shivajirao Nilangekar03 June 198506 March 1986Congress
11Shankarrao Chavan12 March 198626 June 1988Congress
12Sharad Pawar26 June 198825 June 1991Congress
13Sudhakarrao Nayak25 June 199122 February 1993Congress
14Sharad Pawar06 March 199314 March 1995Congress
15Manohar Joshi14 March 199531 January 1999Shiv Sena
16Narayan Rane1 February 199917 October 1999Shiv Sena
17Vilasrao Deshmukh18 October 199916 January 2003Congress
18Sushil Kumar Shinde18 January 200330 October 2004Congress
19Vilasrao Deshmukh01 November 200404 December 2008Congress
20Ashok Chavan08 December 200815 October 2009Congress
21Ashok Chavan07 November 200909 November 2010Congress
22Prithviraj Chavan11 November 201026 September 2014Congress
23Devendra Fadnavis31 October 201412 November 2019Bharatiya Janata Party

President's Rule (12 November 2019 to 23 November 2019)

24Devendra Fadnavis23 November 201926 November 2019Bharatiya Janata Party
25Uddhav Thackeray28 November 201929 Jun 2022Shiv Sena
26Eknath Shinde30 Jun 2022PresentShiv-Sena

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  12937
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States