El Salvador History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 26th, 2021 in Country Information, North America Continent

El Salvador has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the El Salvador and important events related to El Salvador history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

El Salvador Country Profile

CountryEl Salvador
Capitalan Salvador
CurrencyUnited States Dollar
ContinentNorth America

El Salvador History

The region was controlled by several Mesoamerican nations, most notably the Lenca, the Mayans, then later the Quezcateles. Archaeological monuments also suggest an early Olmec presence around the first millennium BCE. From the late 19th century to the mid-20th century, El Salvador ended chronic political and economic instability, with coups, rebellions, and a succession of authoritarian rulers. In the light of unrest in Guatemala in 1821, Spanish authorities signed the Freedom of Information Act of Central America, which freed all Guatemalan captains from Spanish rule and declared their independence.

El Salvador Geography

El Salvador is the smallest and most densely populated country located in Central America. It borders the Pacific Ocean between Guatemala and Honduras. It is located on Fonseca Bay, just as Nicaragua meets south. Spread over an area of 21,000 sq km, the population of this country is around 68 lakhs (July 2008 census). The capital San Salvador is the most important metropolis of the country.

El Salvador Economy

El Salvador's economy has at times been hampered by natural disasters such as earthquakes and hurricanes, large economic subsidies by government policies, and official corruption. Subsidies became such a problem that in April 2012, the International Monetary Fund suspended a $ 750 million loan to the central government. The head of the cabinet, Funes chief, Alex Segovia, acknowledged that the economy was at a "point of collapse".

El Salvador Language

Castilian, also known as Spanish, is the official language Qiichi is spoken by immigrants from Guatemalan and Belizean indigenous people living in El Salvador.

El Salvador Important Facts

  • El Salvador is officially called the Republic of El Salvador. It is a sovereign state located in Central America.
  • El Salvador borders Guatemala in the north and Honduras in the east and the Pacific Ocean in the west.
  • El Salvador gained independence first from Spain on 15 September 1821 and then from the first Mexican Empire on 1 July 1823, and on 18 February 1841 it declared itself an independent nation.
  • The total area of ​​El Salvador is 21,041 sq km. (8,124 sq mi).
  • The official language of El Salvador is Spanish.
  • The currency of El Salvador is the United States Dollar.
  • According to the World Bank, in 2016 El Salvador had a total population of 63.4 lakh.
  • The religion of most people in El Salvador is Christian.
  • The most important ethnic group in El Salvador is the mestizo, white, indigenous and black.
  • The highest mountain in El Salvador is Cerro El Pital, which has an altitude of 2,730 meters.
  • The longest river in El Salvador is the Lempa River, with a length of 422 km.
  • The largest lake in El Salvador is Lake Ilopango, which is 72 square kilometers. Spreads over an area.
  • El Salvador has more than 20 volcanoes, due to which it is also known as the land of volcanoes.
  • In 1980, a civil war was launched in El Salvador against the promises of unsuccessful development of the Junta in which 80,000 people died and in 1992 a war was ended by an MoU.
  • The El Salvador national dish is pupusa.

El Salvador Important History Events

  • 15 September 1821 - Central American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua gained independence.
  • 15 January 1839 - El Salvador formally gained independence following the dissolution of the Central American Union.
  • 28 June 1895 - The Central American Union of El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua was formed.
  • 19 January 1921 - Central American countries Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador signed the agreement.
  • 01 june 1929 - The 1st Conference of the Communist Parties of Latin America was held in Buenos Aires. The First Conference of the Communist Parties of Latin America was in Buenos Aires, Argentina, June 1–12, 1929. 38 delegates, representing Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Cuba, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, took part in the meeting. The only established communist party in the region that did not participate was the Communist Party of Chile, which at time suffered a period of harsh repression under the Ibáñez government.
  • 02 december 1980 - American missionaries Maura Clarke, Jean Donovan, Ita Ford, and Dorothy Kazel were murdered by a military death squad in El Salvador.
  • 13 january 2001 - In El Salvador 850 people were killed due to landslide and earthquake.
  • 13 january 2001 - The first of two large earthquakes struck El Salvador, killing at least 944 people and destroy over 100,000 homes.
  • 13 February 2001 - A 6.6 magnitude earthquake in the Central American country of El Salvador killed at least 400 people.
  • 10 november 2010 - A fire broke out at a juvenile jail in the town of Ilobasco in El Salvador. This led to the death of 16 people and wounded many.

Populated Cities of El Salvador

Usulutan, Cojutepeque, Zacatecoluca, San Vicente, Ahuachapan, Chalatenango, Sensuntepeque, La Union, Santa Ana, San Miguel, Sonsonate, San Francisco Gotera, San Salvador, Nueva San Salvador,

3 Neighbour countries of El Salvador

Guatemala [LM] , Honduras [LM] , Nicaragua [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »