Dominica History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 26th, 2021 in Country Information, North America Continent

Dominica has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Dominica and important events related to Dominica history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Dominica Country Profile

CurrencyEastern Caribbean dollar
ContinentNorth America

Dominica History

The island was inhabited by Arvacs from South America in the 5th century. By the 15th century Kalingo displaced Arawak. Columbus is said to have passed the island on Sunday, 3 November 1493. It was later colonized by Europeans, largely from 1690 to 1763 by the French. The French people enslaved the people of Dominica from West Africa to work in coffee plantations. Great Britain took over after the Seven Years' War in 1763, and it gradually established English as its official language. The island gained independence as a republic in 1978.

Dominica Geography

Dominica is an island nation in the Caribbean Sea, north of the Windward Islands (although it is sometimes considered the southernmost of Lever Island). The country is approximately 289.5 square miles (750 km 2) in size and is approximately 29 miles (47 km) long and 16 miles (26 km) wide. Dominica is known as "The Nature Island of the Caribbean" due to its scenery and diverse flora and fauna, Dominica is largely covered with rainforest and home to the world's second largest hot spring, Boiling Lake.

Dominica Economy

The currency of Dominica is the East Caribbean Dollar. In 2008, Dominica had the lowest per capita gross domestic product (GDP) rate of the eastern Caribbean states. The country suffered a financial crisis in 2003 and 2004 after a decade of poor performance, but Dominica's economy grew by 3.5% in 2005 and 4.0% in 2006. The development in 2006 was attributed to tourism, construction, offshore and other services, and profits in some sub-sectors of the banana industry. Around this time the International Monetary Fund (IMF) praised Dominica's government for successful macroeconomic reforms, but also pointed to remaining challenges, including reduction in public debt, increased financial sector regulation, and market diversification Huh.

Dominica Language

English is the official language of Dominica and is universally spoken and understood. In addition, the Dominican Creole, an Antilion Creole, which is based on French, is widely spoken. This is due to French migration to the island beginning in 1690, the majority of the French Creole-speaking population that lived on the island, and its location between the two French-speaking divisions of Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Dominica Important Facts

  • Dominica is officially called the Commonwealth of Dominica, an island republic in the Lesser Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean Sea.
  • The indigenous inhabitants of Dominica were the island Caribbean people. They named it Wai‘tu kubuli, which means its long body (Tall is her body).
  • Dominica was seen by Christopher Columbus in November 1493 and named it Dominica.
  • Dominica gained independence from the United Kingdom on 3 November 1978.
  • The total area of ​​Dominica is 750 sq km. (290 sq mi).
  • The official language of Dominica is English.
  • The currency of Dominica is named East Caribbean Dollar.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of Dominica in 2016 was 73,543.
  • The religion of most people in Dominica is Christian.
  • The most important ethnic group in Dominica is black, mixed and indigenous.
  • The highest mountain in Dominica is Morne Diablotins, which has a height of 1,447 meters.
  • The longest river in Dominica is the Layou River, with a length of 616 km.
  • Dominica's largest lake is Boiling Lake, which is the second largest boiling lake in the world.
  • The national dish of Dominica is Mountain Chicken.
  • The national bird of Dominica is the Sisserou parrot parrot.

Dominica Important History Events

  • 05 december 1484 - Pope Innocent VIII issued the papal bull Summis desiderantes affectibus, giving Dominican Inquisitor Heinrich Kramer explicit authority to prosecute witchcraft in Germany.
  • 03 November 1493 - Christopher Columbus discovered Dominica Island.
  • 07 february 1497 - Supporters of the Dominican priest Girolamo Savonarola collected and publicly burned thousands of objects such as cosmetics, art, and books in Florence, Italy.
  • 07 september 1778 - American Revolutionary War-France invaded the island ofDominica and captured the British fort there before the latter even knewthat France had entered the war as an ally of the United States.
  • 16 august 1863 - After Spain had annexed the Dominican Republic, rebels raised the Dominican flag in Santiago de los Caballeros to begin the War of Restoration.
  • 30 june 1922 - The United States and the Dominican Republic signed anagreement that ended the former's occupation of the latter two yearslater.
  • 02 october 1937 - Under the orders of President Rafael Trujillo, Dominican troops began mass killings of approximately 20,000 Haitians living in the Dominican Republic.
  • 01 january 1959 - Cuban President Fulgencio Batista fled to the Dominican Republic as forces under Fidel Castro took control of Havana, marking the end of the Cuban Revolution.
  • 25 november 1960 - The Mirabal sisters, who opposed the dictatorship of militarystrongman Rafael Trujillo in the Dominican Republic, were beaten andstrangled to death.
  • 30 may 1961 - Dominican strongman Rafael Trujillo was ambushed by a group ofgenerals and assassinated.

Populated Cities of Dominica

Barahona, Bavaro, Bonao, San Juan, Bani, Jimani, Moca, Azua, Mao, Salcedo, Comendador, Cotui, Hato Mayor, Nagua, Neiba, El Seibo, Roseau, San Pedro de Macoris, Santo Domingo, La Romana, Monte Cristi, Dajabon, Sabaneta, La Vega, Monte Plata, Santiago, San Cristobal, San Francisco de Macoris, Higuey, Puerto Plata, Samana, Pedernales, Santo Domingo Este,

2 Neighbour countries of Dominica

France [M] , Venezuela [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »