Papua New Guinea History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 27th, 2021 in Country Information, Oceania Islands

Papua New Guinea has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Papua New Guinea and important events related to Papua New Guinea history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Papua New Guinea Country Profile

CountryPapua New Guinea
CapitalPort Moresby
CurrencyPapua New Guinean kina
FounderMichael Somare 

Papua New Guinea History

The prehistory of Papua New Guinea can be traced back to around 60,000 years ago, when people first moved towards the Australian continent. Written history began when European sailors first saw New Guinea in the early part of the 17th century. Shortly after the start of the Pacific War, the island of New Guinea was attacked by the Japanese. Most of West Papua, at the time known as Dutch New Guinea, had large portions of the territory of New Guinea (formerly German New Guinea, which was also under Australian rule after World War I), but Papua was protected. To a large extent its southern location and the adjacent Owen Stanley Ranges to the north were also protected.

Papua New Guinea Geography

New Guinea is an island north of the Australian mainland, south of the equator. It is separated by the Arafura Sea in the west and the Torres Strait in the east and the Coral Sea. Sometimes considered the easternmost island in the Indonesian archipelago, it is located in Australia's Top End, the Gulf of Carperia and Cape York Peninsula, and west of the Bismarck Archipelago and north of the Solomon Islands archipelago. Politically, the western half of the island consists of Indonesia Papua and the two provinces of West Papua. The eastern half of Papua New Guinea is the country's mainland.

Papua New Guinea Economy

There are 284 species and six orders of mammals in New Guinea: three orders of monotrem, marsupials, rodents, and bats; 195 (69%) of the mammalian species are endemic. New Guinea has 578 species of breeding birds, of which 324 species are endemic. The island's frogs are one of the poorest vertebrate groups with a total number of 282 species, but this number is expected to double or triple when all species have been documented.New Guinea has a rich diversity of coral life and 1,200 species of fish have been found. In addition there are about 600 species of reef-building corals - equivalent to 75 percent of the world's known total. The entire coral area is 18 million hectares from a peninsula in northwestern New Guinea. According to satellite data, New Guinea, Papua and the western part of West Papua, by 2020, account for about 54% of the island's primary forest and about 51% of the island's total trees.

Papua New Guinea Language

The island is currently inhabited by an odd number of about a thousand different tribal groups and different languages, making New Guinea the most linguistically diverse region in the world. The 14th edition of the Ethnologue has 826 languages ​​in Papua New Guinea and 257 languages ​​in Western New Guinea, a total of 1073 languages, with 12 overlapping languages. They can be divided into two groups, Austronesian languages, and all others, which for convenience are called Papuan languages. Papuan languages ​​refer to a regional group rather than a linguistic one, because the so-called Papuan languages ​​include hundreds of different languages.

Papua New Guinea Important Facts

  • Papua New Guinea is officially known as the independent Papua New Guinea state, an island island in the Pacific Ocean that shares its island with New Guinea in the west.
  • Papua New Guinea gained independence from Australia on 16 September 1975.
  • The total area of ​​Papua New Guinea is 462,840 sq km. (178,700 square miles).
  • The national languages ​​of Papua New Guinea are Hiri Motu, Tok Pisin, PNG Sign Language and English.
  • The name of the currency of Papua New Guinea is Papua New Guinean Kina.
  • According to the World Bank, in 2016, Papua New Guinea had a total population of 80.8 million.
  • Papua is the longest sepic river in New Guinea, with a length of 1,126 km.
  • The largest lake in Papua New Guinea is Lake Murray, which is 647 square kilometers. Spreads over an area of.
  • The highest mountain in Papua New Guinea is Mount Wilhelm, which is 4,509 meters high.
  • Papua New Guinea An earthquake of 7.5 magnitude occurred on 25 February 2018, in which 31 people lost their lives.
  • Papua New Guinea's national marine animal is Dugong.
  • The national bird of Papua New Guinea is the Raggiana bird of paradise.
  • The national sport of Papua New Guinea is the Rugby League.

Papua New Guinea Important History Events

  • 16 September 1975 - Papua New Guinea gained independence from Australia.
  • 16 September 1975 - Australia liberated Papua New Guinea.
  • 07 july 1978 - The Soloman islands got their independence from United Kingdom. It is an autonomous country comprised of group of many islands. It is situated near Papua New Guinea. It is a constitutional monarchy.
  • 07 september 2009 - Scientists in Papua New Guinea broadcast the discovery of around forty new species, which includes a giant rat that weighs approximately 1.5 kg.
  • 22 november 2011 - Bulbophyllumnocturnum, an orchid has been discovered by scientists, in New Britain off the coast of Papua New Guinea. It is the first orchid known to blossom at night.
  • 19 july 2013 - Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd announces a plan to help settle Papua New Guinea asylum seekers who come to Australia by boat.
  • 11 april 2014 - Papua New Guinea is shaken by a 7.1-magnitude earthquake with an aftershock registering at 6.1 on the Richter scale; the quakes were cantered off the island of Bougainville.

Populated Cities of Papua New Guinea

Kundiawa, Hoskins, Rabaul, Kieta, Madang, Mt. Hagen, Lorengau, Kerema, Arawa, Goroka, Wabag, Port Moresby, Popondetta, Mendi, Wewak, Sohano, Abau, Kavieng, Kimbe, Daru, Lae, Alotau, Vanimo,

4 Neighbour countries of Papua New Guinea

Australia [M] , Indonesia [LM] , Micronesia [M] , Solomon Islands [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »