The Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh is the chief executive of the Indian state of Chhattisgarh. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of a state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Legislative Assembly, the Governor of the state usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose council of ministers is collectively responsible to the Assembly.

Chhattisgarh's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterVishnudev Sai
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date13 December 2023
First Chief MinisterAjit Jogi

Current Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh 2023

Vishnu Dev Sai is an Indian politician who currently serves as the fourth Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. He is the first tribal leader to hold this post. Vishnudev Sai, who started his political career as Panch from his village Bagiya in 1989, was elected unopposed as Sarpanch in 1990. After this, after being elected MLA from Tapkara, he remained a member of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly from 1990 to 1998. After this, in 1999, he was elected MP from Raigarh Lok Sabha constituency for the 13th Lok Sabha. After this, BJP made him the state president of the party in 2006. He also served as the President of Bharatiya Janata Party, Chhattisgarh from 2020 to 2022. He currently represents Kunkuri in the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly.

History of Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

On November 01, 2000, Chhattisgarh became a new state of India by separating from Madhya Pradesh. Since the formation of Chhattisgarh, three people have served as Chief Minister of the state. The first Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh was Ajit Jogi of the Indian National Congress. In 2003, he was replaced by Raman Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party, who served three consecutive five-year terms. he third person to serve in the office was Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel, who served from 2018 to 2023, replaced by the current incumbent Vishnudev Sai, following the Bharatiya Janata Party's landslide victory in the 2023 elections.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Chhattisgarh (2000-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Chhattisgarh CM from 2000 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerDischargeDischargeParty/political party
Ajit Jogi01 November 200007 December 2003Indian National Congress
Raman Singh07 December 200316 December 2018Bharatiya Janata Party
Bhupendra Baghel17 December 201813 December 2023Indian National Congress
Vishnudev Sai13 December 2023PostedBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  14583
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States