The Chief Minister of Gujarat is the chief executive of the government of the Indian state of Gujarat. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly. The tenure of the Chief Minister is five years and there is no limit on his tenure, provided he has the confidence of the Legislative Assembly.

Gujarat's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterBhupendrabhai Patel
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date 13 September 2021
First Chief MinisterJivraj Narayan Mehta

Current Chief Minister of Gujarat 2023

Bhupendra Patel is the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat, he is an MLA from Ghatlodia Assembly seat in Gujarat. Patel was a member of the Memnagar Municipality in 1995–19, 1999–2000 and 2004-2006. He was the President of the Municipality of Memnagar in 1999–2000. He was the vice -chairman of the School Board of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) from 2008 to 2010.

He was a councilor of Thaltej ward from 2010 to 2015. He was the chairman of the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA) from 2015 to 2017. He also served as the Chairman of the Standing Committee of AMC. On 12 September 2021, Patel was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party and the Chief Minister of Gujarat. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on 13 September 2021.

History of Chief Minister of Gujarat

The state of Gujarat was formed on 1 May 1960, after which 17 people have held the post of Chief Minister in the state. The first Chief Minister of Gujarat state was Jivraj Narayan Mehta of Congress who was sworn in on 1 May 1960. Narendra Modi is the longest serving Chief Minister, serving for twelve and a half years from 2001 to 2014. He resigned as the 14th Chief Minister in 2014 and became the Prime Minister of India.

After him Anandiben Patel became the first woman Chief Minister of the state. The current Chief Minister is Bhupendrabhai Patel of BJP. He was selected for the post after the resignation of the then incumbent Vijay Rupani, who held the post since August 7, 2016.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Gujarat (1960-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Gujarat CM from 1960 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freePolitical party
Jivraj Narayan Mehta 01 May 1960 03 March 1962 Indian National Congress
Jivraj Narayan MehtaMarch 03, 1962September 19, 1963 Indian National Congress
Balwantrai MehtaSeptember 19, 1963September 20, 1965 Indian National Congress
Hitendra Desai 20 September 196503 April 1967 Indian National Congress
Hitendra Desai03 April 196706 April 1971 Indian National Congress
Hitendra Desai07 April, 197112 May, 1971 Indian National Congress
Ghanshyambhai Ojha17 March 1972 17 July 1973 Indian National Congress
Chimanbhai Patel18 July 197309 February 1974 Indian National Congress
Babubhai Patel June 18, 1975March 12, 1976Janata Party
Madhavsinh Solanki 24 December 197610 April 1977Indian National Congress
Babubhai Patel 11 April 1977 17 February 1980Janata Party
Madhav Singh Solanki 07 June 198010 March 1985Indian National Congress
Madhav Singh Solanki 11 March, 1985 06 July, 1985Indian National Congress
Amarsingh Chaudhary 06 July 198509 December 1989Indian National Congress
Madhavsinh Solanki10 December 198904 March 1990Indian National Congress
Chimanbhai PatelMarch 04, 1990February 17, 1994Janata Dal, Janata Dal (Gujarat), Indian National Congress
Chhabildas MehtaFebruary 17, 1994March 14, 1995 Indian National Congress
Keshubhai Patel 14 March 199521 October 1995Bharatiya Janata Party
Suresh MehtaOctober 21, 1995September 19, 1996Bharatiya Janata Party
Shankarsinh Vaghela 23 October 199627 October 1997 Rashtriya Janata Party
Dilipbhai Ramanbhai Parikh28 October 199704 March 1998Rashtriya Janata Party
Keshubhai Patel04 March 199806 October 2001Bharatiya Janata Party
Narendra Modi07 October 200122 December 2002Bharatiya Janata Party
Narendra Modi 22 December 200222 December 2007Bharatiya Janata Party
Narendra Modi 23 December 200720 December 2012Bharatiya Janata Party
Narendra Modi 20 December 2012 21 May 2014Bharatiya Janata Party
Anandiben Patel 22 May 201407 August 2016Bharatiya Janata Party
Vijay Rupani07 August 201613 September 2021Bharatiya Janata Party
Bhupendrabhai Patel 13 September 2021Till nowBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  11764
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States