The Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh is the head of the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the Governor of the state usually invites the majority coalition to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Himachal Pradesh's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterSukhwinder Singh Sukhu
Political partyIndian National Congress
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date11 December 2022
First Chief MinisterYashwant Singh Parmar

Current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh 2023

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu is an Indian politician and serves as the 7th and current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh and MLA from Nadaun in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. He is a politician from the Indian National Congress. He rose in the party and led the NSUI state unit in the late 1980s and mid-1990s (1989–95). Sukhwinder was the state Youth Congress president in the 2000s (1998–08). He was also the Chief Whip of the Congress Legislative Party (CLP) from 2007 to 2012. Sukhwinder Singh also served as the President of Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee from 2013 to 2019.

History of Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

The Chief Commissioner's Province of Himachal Pradesh was formed on 15 April 1948 through the integration of 30 erstwhile princely states. Since 1952, seven people have been the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. The first Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh was Yashwant Singh Parmar. Virbhadra Singh is the longest serving Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, holding the position from 1983 to 1990, from 1993 to 1998, from 2003 to 2007, and finally from 2012 to 2017. The current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh is Sukhwinder Sukhu, who was sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on 11 December 2022.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh (1952-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Himachal Pradesh CM from 1952 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

NumberName of the Chief MinisterTake overResignationParty/Political Party
1Yashwant Singh Parmar08 March 195231 October 1956Indian National Congress
The state was converted into a Union Territory (from 31 October 1956 to 1 July 1963)
2Yashwant Singh Parmar01 July 196328 January 1977Indian National Congress
3Thakur Ram Lal28 January 1977April 30, 1977Indian National Congress
President's Rule (30 April 1977 to 22 January 1977)
4Shanta Kumar22 June 197714 February 1980Janata Party
5Thakur Ram Lal14 February 1980April 07, 1983Indian National Congress
6Virbhadra SinghApril 08, 198308 March 1985Indian National Congress
7Virbhadra Singh08 March 1985March 05, 1990Indian National Congress
8Shanta KumarMarch 05, 199015 December 1992Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
President's Rule (from 15 December 1992 to 11 December 2022)
9Virbhadra Singh03 December 1993March 23, 1998Indian National Congress
10Prem Kumar Dhumal24 March 1998March 05, 2003Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
11Virbhadra Singh06 March 200330 December 2007Indian National Congress
12Prem Kumar Dhumal30 December 200725 December 2012Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
13Virbhadra Singh25 December 201226 December 2017Indian National Congress
14Jairam Thakur27 December 201709 December 2022Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
15Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu11 December 2022so farIndian National Congress

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  16953
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States