Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir was the title given to the head of government of Jammu and Kashmir. According to the Constitution of India, the Lieutenant Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly, the Lieutenant Governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Lieutenant Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Jammu and Kashmir's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterVacant (President's Rule)
Political parties-
Term of office 5 years
First Chief MinisterGhulam Mohammad Sadiq

Current Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir 2023

BJP, which is part of the government in the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir, announced to break the alliance with PDP on June 19. There was a conflict going on between both the parties for a long time on many issues including ceasefire. After withdrawal of support by BJP, Mehbooba Mufti has submitted her resignation to Governor NN Vohra, with which President's rule has been imposed in the state. Mehbooba Mufti is the former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. She took oath as Chief Minister on 04 April 2016 and remained on this post till 19 June 2018. Currently, the Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir serves as the head of the government of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir until a new Chief Minister is appointed after the next Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly election.

History of Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir was bifurcated into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, in August 2019. Jammu and Kashmir became an integral part of India on October 26, 1947. Since March 1965, 9 persons have been elected as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. Mehbooba Mufti was the first and last woman Chief Minister of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq was the first Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Jammu and Kashmir (1947-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Jammu and Kashmir CM from 1947 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerTake overDischargeParty/political party
Meher Chand Mahajan15 October 194705 March 1948Indian National Congress
Sheikh Abdullah05 March 194809 August 1953NC
Bakshi Ghulam Mohammad09 August 195312 October 1963NC
Khwaja Shamsuddin12 October 196329 February 1964NC
Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq29 February 196430 March 1965Indian National Congress
Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq30 March 196512 December 1971Indian National Congress
Syed Mir Qasim12 December 197125 February 1975Indian National Congress
Sheikh Abdullah25 February 197526 March 1977National Conference

President's Rule (26 March 1977 - 09 July 1977)

Sheikh Abdullah09 July 197708 September 1982National Conference
Farooq Abdullah08 September 198202 July 1984National Conference
Ghulam Mohammad Shah02 July 198406 March 1986Awami National Conference

President's Rule (06 March 1986 - 07 November 1986)

Farooq Abdullah07 November 198619 January 1990National Conference

President's Rule (19 January 1990 - 09 October 1996)

Farooq Abdullah09 October 199618 October 2002National Conference

President's Rule (18 October 2002 - 02 November 2002)

Mufti Mohammad Sayeed02 November 200220 November 2005People's Democratic Party
Ghulam Nabi Azad02 November 200511 July 2008Indian National Congress

President's Rule (11 July 2008 - 05 January 2009)

Omar Abdullah05 January 200908 January 2015Jammu and Kashmir National Conference

President's Rule (8 January 2015 - 01 March 2015)

Mufti Mohammad Sayeed01 March 201507 January 2016People's Democratic Party

President's Rule (07 January 2016 - 04 April 2016)

Mehbooba Mufti04 April 201619 June 2018Peoples Democratic Party

President's Rule (19 June 2018 - Present)

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  23273
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States