The Chief Minister of Nagaland is the chief executive of the Indian state of Nagaland. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. Following elections to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, the state Governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Nagaland's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterNeiphiu Rio
Political partyNationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date08 March 2018
First Chief MinisterP. Shilu Ao

Current Chief Minister of Nagaland 2023

Nephew Rio is an Indian politician who served as the 9th and current Chief Minister of Nagaland since 2018, having previously held the post of Chief Minister for three consecutive terms - 2003–08, 2008–13, 2013–14. Rio unsuccessfully contested the 1987 Nagaland Legislative Assembly election as an independent candidate. Rio was first elected to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly as a Congress (I) candidate from North Angami-II constituency during the 7th general election in 1989. Rio was the Home Minister of Nagaland from 1998 to 2002 as a member of the cabinet headed by SC Jamir. He was also the MP from Nagaland Lok Sabha constituency between 2014-18.

History of Chief Minister of Nagaland

Since 1963 till now, 11 persons from 07 different parties have held the post of Chief Minister. The first Chief Minister of Nagaland was P. Shilu AO of the Naga Nationalist Organisation. The current Chief Minister is Neiphiu Rio and has been in office since 8 March 2018. He is the only Nagaland Chief Minister to serve five consecutive terms, and the longest serving Chief Minister of Nagaland.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland (1963-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Nagaland CM from 1963 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
P. Shilu AO01 December 196314 August 1966Naga Nationalist Organization
T. N. Angami14 August 196622 February 1969
Hokishe Sema22 February 196926 February 1974
Vijol Angami26 February 197410 March 1975United Democratic Front
John Bosco Jasoki10 March 197520 March 1975Naga National Democratic Party

President's Rule (20 March 1975 to 25 November 1977)

Vijol Angami25 November 197718 April 1980United Democratic Front
S. C. Jamir18 April 198005 June 1980United Democratic Front—Progressive
John Bosco Jasoki05 June 198018 November 1982Naga National Democratic Party
S. C. Jamir18 November 198228 October 1986United Democratic Front—Progressive
Hokishe Sema29 October 198607 August 1988Indian National Congress

President's Rule (07 August 1988 to 25 January 1989)

S. C. Jamir25 January 198910 May 1990Indian National Congress
K. L. Chisli16 May 199019 June 1990Indian National Congress
Wamuzo Fasao19 June 199002 April 1992Nagaland People's Council

President's Rule ( 02 April 1992 to 22 February 1993)

SC Jamir22 February 199306 March 2003Indian National Congress
Neiphiu Rio06 March 200303 January 2008Naga People's Front (NPF)

President's Rule ( 03 January 2008 to 12 March 2008)

Neiphiu Rio12 March 200824 May 2014Naga People's Front (NPF)
TR Zeliang24 May 201422 February 2017Naga People's Front (NPF)
Neiphiu Rio22 February 201719 July 2017Naga People's Front (NPF)
TR Zeliang19 July 201707 March 2018Naga People's Front (NPF)
Neiphiu Rio08 March 2018So farNationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  11600
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States