The Chief Minister of the Indian state of Odisha is the head of the Government of Odisha. The Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After the Odisha Assembly elections, the Governor usually invites the party with the majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Odisha's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterNaveen Patnaik
Political PartyBiju Janata Dal
Oath-taking date 29 May 2019
Term of office5 years
First Chief MinisterHare Krishna Mahtab

Current Chief Minister of Odisha 2023

Naveen Patnaik is an Indian politician and writer who is the current and 14th Chief Minister of Odisha and has been representing the Hinjili assembly constituency since 2000. Naveen Patnaik started his political career in 1997, when he contested and won as a member of the Indian Lok Sabha. In 2000, Naveen Patnaik took over the chair of the Chief Minister of Odisha for the first time and he has held this position several times. Naveen Patnaik has worked on many important aspects of development and social welfare of Odisha during his tenure, such as education, health and poverty alleviation schemes.

History of Chief Minister of Odisha

Orissa province was formed on 1 April 1936. Since 1946, Odisha has had 14 Chief Ministers. The first Chief Minister of Odisha was Harekrishna Mahatab. Naveen Patnaik is the longest serving Chief Minister of Odisha since 2000 and, as of 2023, one of the longest serving Chief Ministers of any Indian state. He is the third Indian Chief Minister to win after Pawan Chamling and Jyoti Basu.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Odisha (1946-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Odisha CM from 1946 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
Krishna Chandra Gajapati01 April 193719 July 1937Independent
Vishwanath Das19 July 193704 November 1939Indian National Congress
Krishna Chandra Gajapati29 November 194129 June 1941Independent

List of Chief Ministers of Odisha from the year 1946 till now:-

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
Harekrishna Mahtab23 April 194612 May 1950Indian National Congress
Navkrishna Choudhary12 May 195020 February 1952
20 February 195219 October 1956
Hare Krishna Mahtab19 October 195606 April 1957
06 April 195722 May 1959
22 May 195925 February 1961

President's Rule (25 February 1961 to 23 June 1961)

Biju Patnaik23 June 196102 October 1963Indian National Congress
Biren Mitra02 October 196321 February 1965
Sadashiv Tripathi21 February 196508 March 1967
Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo08 March 196709 January 1971Swatantra Party

President's Rule (11 January 1971 to 03 April 1971)

Vishwanath Das03 April 197114 June 1972Independent
Nandini Satpathy14 June 197203 March 1973Indian National Congress

President's rule (from 3 March 1973 to 6 March 1974)

Nandini Satpathy06 March 197416 December 1976Indian National Congress

President's rule (from 16 December 1976 to 29 December 1976)

Binayak Acharya29 December 197630 April 1977Indian National Congress

President's Rule (30 April 1977 to 26 June 1977)

Nilamani Routre26 June 197717 February 1980Janata Party

President's Rule (17 February 1980 to 09 June 1980)

Janaki Ballabh Patnaik09 June 198010 March 1985

10 March 198507 December 1989Indian National Congress
Hemanand Biswal07 December 198905 March 1990Janata Dal
Biju Patnaik05 March 199015 March 1995
Janaki Ballabh Patnaik15 March 199517 February 1999
Giridhar Gamang17 February 199906 December 1999Indian National Congress
Hemanand Biswal06 December 199905 March 2000
Naveen Patnaik05 March 200016 May 2004Biju Janata Dal
16 May 200421 May 2009
21 May 200921 May 2014
21 May 201424 May 2019
24 May 2019So far

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  15049
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States