Chief Ministers of Manipur (1963-2022):

Manipur General Knowledge: Manipur is a state in India. Imphal is the capital of Manipur. Manipur's neighboring states are: Nagaland to the north and Mizoram to the south, Assam to the west; And in the east it shares its border with Myanmar. Its area is 22,347 km (8,628 sq mi). The literal meaning of Manipur is also 'the land of gems' or 'the land of gems'. The original inhabitants of this place are the people of Meitei tribe, who live in the valley region here.

Their language is Meitilon, which is also called Manipuri language. This language has been added to the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India in 1992 and thus has got the status of a national language. People of Naga and Kuki tribes live in the hilly areas here. Manipuri is considered a sensitive border state.

Quick Info About Chief Ministers of Manipur

Current Chief Minister N Biren Singh
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Oath taking date 15th March, 2017
First Chief Minister Mairembam Koireng Singh

History of Manipur: After the First Anglo-Manipuri War in 1891, this state came under British rule. Many heroes sacrificed their lives in this war. After the British captured Imphal, Crown Prince Tekendrajit and General Thangal were hanged. After India's independence in 1947, the Manipur Constitution Act was enacted, so that a democratic government could be formed in the state.

Manipur got full statehood on 21 January 1972. The capital of Manipur is Imphal. This entire part is hilly. The climate is warm and humid and the annual rainfall averages 65 inches. About 60 tribes of Naga and Kuki caste live here. The people here are very proficient in music and art. Although many dialects are spoken here. The production of tea is prominent on the hill slopes and paddy in the valleys. From here a road leads to Burma. 

Chief Minister of Manipur: The current Chief Minister of Manipur is N Biren Singh. N Biren Singh was appointed as the Chief Minister of Manipur on 15 March 2017. After independence, the Bharatiya Janata Party government was formed in Manipur for the first time. Mairembam Koireng Singh was the first Chief Minister of Manipur. The Chief Minister is the head of the government of any state in the Republic of India.

The legislators, who are democratically elected after the electoral process, elect their leader, who is appointed by the Governor to the post of Chief Minister. If we talk about Manipur, then you can read the list of Chief Ministers of this state from 1963 till now.

List of Chief Ministers of Manipur from 1963 to 2021:

Name of the Chief Minister Post Office Free Political Party
Mairembam Koireng Singh 01 July 1963 11 January 1967 Congress

President's Rule (January 12, 1967 to March 19, 1967)

Mairembam Koireng Singh March 20, 1967 October 04, 1967 Congress
Longjam Thambou Singh October 13, 1967 October 24, 1967 Manipur United Front

President's Rule (October 25, 1967 to February 18, 1968)

Mairembam Koireng Singh 19 February 1968 16 October 1969 Congress

President's Rule (October 17, 1969 to March 22, 1972)

Mohd Alimuddin March 23, 1972 March 27, 1973 MPP

President's Rule (28 March 1973 to 03 March 1974)

Mohd Alimuddin 04 March, 1974 09 July, 1974 MPP
Yangmasho Shaiza July 10, 1974 December 05, 1974 MHU
Rajkumar Dorendra Singh 06 December 1974 15 May 1977 Congress

President's Rule (May 16, 1977 to June 28, 1977)

Yangmasho Shaiza June 29, 1977 November 13, 1979 JNP

President's Rule (14 November 1979 to 13 January 1980)

Rajkumar Dorendra Singh 14 January 1980 26 November 1980 Congress
Rishang Qishing 27 November 1980 27 February 1981 Congress

President's Rule (28 February 1981 to 18 June 1981)

Rishang Qishing June 19, 1981 March 3, 1988 INC (I)
Rajkumar Jaichandra Singh 04 March 1988 22 February 1990 Congress
Rajkumar Ranbir Singh 23 February 1990 06 January 1992 MRP

President's Rule (07 January 1992 to 07 April 1992)

Rajkumar Dorendra Singh April 08, 1992 April 10, 1993 Congress

President's Rule (December 31, 1993 to December 13, 1994)

Rishang Qishing December 14, 1994 December 15, 1997 Congress
Wahengbum Nipamacha Singh December 16, 1997 February 14, 2001 MSCP
Radhabinod Koijam February 15, 2001 June 1, 2001 SAP

President's Rule (June 02, 2001 to March 06, 2002)

Okram Ibobi Singh March 07, 2002 March 01, 2007 Congress
Okram Ibobi Singh March 02, 2007 March 13, 2012 Congress
Okram Ibobi Singh March 14, 2012 March 14, 2017 Congress
N Biren Singh March 15, 2017 Currently Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

  Last update :  Wed 26 Oct 2022
  Download :  PDF
  Post Views :  4470
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States