The Chief Minister of Sikkim is a popularly elected politician who heads the executive of the Government of Sikkim, the subnational authority of the Indian state of Sikkim. The Chief Minister usually sits as a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) and leads the coalition of the largest party. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Sikkim's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterPrem Singh Tamang
Political PartySikkim Krantikari Morcha
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date27 May 2019
First Chief MinisterKazi Lendup Dorji

Current Chief Minister of Sikkim 2023

Prem Singh Tamang is an Indian politician and former teacher, the sixth and current Chief Minister of Sikkim since 2019, and the founder and leader of Sikkim Krantikari. In 1990, he was appointed Graduate Teacher under the Department of Human Resource Development in the Government of Sikkim and served till 1993.He was the Minister of Industry and Animal Husbandry from 1994 to 2004. Was the Minister of Building and Housing Department from 2004 to 2009. In 2009, after winning the election in the Burtuk constituency, he was named as the Chairman of the Department of Industry. Establishing his own party Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, during 2014 he was elected MLA from Bartuk constituency.

History of Chief Minister of Sikkim

On 16 May 1975, Sikkim became the 22nd state of the country. Sikkim has had five Chief Ministers since 1975. Qazi Lendup Dorji of the Indian National Congress party was the first Chief Minister of this state. Pawan Kumar Chamling was the longest serving Chief Minister of Sikkim from 1994 to 2019. The current Chief Minister of Sikkim is Prem Singh Tamang. Who took oath on 27 May 2019.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Sikkim (1975-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Sikkim CM from 1975 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freePolitical party
Kazi Lendup Dorji16 May 197518 August 1979Indian National Congress

President's Rule (18 August 1979 to 18 October 1979)

Nar Bahadur Bhandari18 October 197911 May 1984Sikkim Janata Parishad
B. B. Gurung11 May 198425 May 1984Indian National Congress

President's Rule (25 May 1984 to 08 March 1985)

Nar Bahadur Bhandari08 March 198517 June 1994Sikkim Sangram Parishad
Sanchaman Limbu17 June 199412 December 1994Sikkim Sangram Parishad
Pawan Kumar Chamling12 December 199427 May 2019Sikkim Democratic Front
Prem Singh Tamang27 May 2019PostedSikkim Krantikari Morcha

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  15903
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States