Sierra Leone History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 24th, 2021 in Africa Continent, Country Information

Sierra Leone has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Sierra Leone and important events related to Sierra Leone history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Sierra Leone Country Profile

CountrySierra Leone
CurrencySierra Leonean leone
GroupAfrican Union
FormationApril 27, 1961
FounderThomas Peters 

Sierra Leone History

The name of the country is derived from Mount Serra Leoa near Freetown. The name Serra Leão (Portuguese for the Lioness Mountains), originally by the Portuguese explorer Pedro de Sintra in 1462, is derived from the modern spelling of the Italian name, introduced by Venetian explorer Alvis Cadmasto and later by other European mapmakers Was copied. Archaeologists suggest that Sierra Leone has been inhabited continuously for at least 2,500 years. But Sierra Leone gained independence from the United Kingdom on 27 April 1961 under the leadership of Milton Maragai, who became the country's first Prime Minister.

Sierra Leone Geography

Sierra Leone is located on the southwest coast of West Africa. The country is bounded by Guinea to the north and east, Liberia to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west and southwest. Sierra Leone has a total area of ​​71,740 km2, divided into a water area of ​​71,620 km2 and 120 km2. There are four different geographical regions of the country. The plateau in eastern Sierra Leone is surrounded by high mountains, where Mount Bintumani reaches 1,948 meters (6,391 ft), the highest point in the country. The upper part of the Moa River drainage basin lies to the south of the region.

Sierra Leone Economy

The country's currency is Leone, and the central bank is Sierra Leone's bank. Sierra Leone operates a floating exchange rate system, and foreign currencies can be exchanged at any commercial bank, accredited foreign exchange bureau and most hotels. Credit card use is limited in Sierra Leone. Two-thirds of Sierra Leone's population is directly involved in subsistence agriculture. Agriculture accounted for 58 percent of the gross domestic product (GDP) in 2007.

Sierra Leone Language

English is the official language used in schools and government administration, however, cryo is the most spoken language in Sierra Leone, and is spoken by 98% of the country's population. The Krio language unites all the ethnic groups in the country.

Sierra Leone Important Facts

  • Sierra Leone, officially called the Republic of Sierra Leone, is located in the west of Africa.
  • Sierra Leone is bordered by Liberia to the southeast, the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest, and Guinea to the northeast.
  • Sierra Leone has a warm climate and the tropical region has dense forests.
  • Sierra Leone was made independent by the United Kingdom (UK) on 27 April 1961.
  • Sierra Leone has a total area of ​​71,740 sq km. (27,700 square miles).
  • The official language of Sierra Leone is English and the other recognized languages ​​are Temne, Mende and Krio.
  • The currency of Sierra Leone is Leon.
  • According to the World Bank, Sierra Leone had a total population of 74 million in 2016.
  • In Sierra Leone, the religion of most people is Islam.
  • There are 16 ethnic groups in Sierra Leone, with Temne and Mende being the two largest and most influential ethnic groups.
  • A planetary war broke out in Sierra Leone from 23 March 1991 to 18 January 2002, in which more than 50,000 people died.
  • In 1972, Sierra Leone found the world's third-largest gem-quality diamond, called the Star of Sierra Leone.
  • The highest mountain in Sierra Leone is Mount Bintumani or Loma Mansa, which is 1,945 meters (6,381 ft) high.
  • The national animal of Sierra Leone is the lion.
  • The largest river in Sierra Leone is the Rokel River, with a length of 386 km.

Sierra Leone Important History Events

  • 28 june 1882 - The Anglo-French Convention of 1882 marks the territorial boundaries between Guinea and Sierra Leone. The treaty confirmed the territorial boundaries between Guinea and Sierra Leone around Conakry and Freetown. However, it was never fully ratified by the French Chamber of Deputies although was officially recognized by the British Foreign Office.
  • 27 april 1961 - Milton Margai took office as the first Prime Minister of Sierra Leone upon the nation's independence from the United Kingdom.
  • 27 September 1961 - Sierra Leone became the hundredth member of the United Nations.
  • 09 April 1961 - Joseph Gand got status as the first native Roman Catholic priest in Sierra Leone.
  • 23 march 1991 - The Sierra Leone Civil War began when the Revolutionary UnitedFront, with support from the special forces of Charles Taylor's NationalPatriotic Front of Liberia, invaded Sierra Leone in an attempt tooverthrow Joseph Saidu Momoh.
  • 10 september 2000 - Operation Barras successfully freed six British soldiers held captive for over two weeks and contributed to the end of the Sierra Leone Civil War.
  • 29 july 2014 - The key Sierra Leone doctor, Dr. Sheik Umar Khan who was fighting against the Ebola virus died. He died after succumbing to the disease.
  • 01 august 2014 - Liberia and Sierra Leone declare a state of emergency in response to the Ebola virus disease by sending in troops and ordering the closure of schools and markets and the quarantining of affected communities.
  • 06 august 2014 - The World Health Organization announces that 932 have died from the recent eruption of the Ebola virus with a man allegedly dying of the disease in Jeddah, Saudi after a business trip to Sierra Leone.
  • 28 october 2014 - Australia banned all visas from nations affected by the Ebola virus, like Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone. Although the country’s officials said that it was required to preserve public health, medical & health experts strongly criticized this policy.

Populated Cities of Sierra Leone

Makeni, Koidu, Freetown, Bo, Kenema, Port Loko,

2 Neighbour countries of Sierra Leone

Guinea [LM] , Liberia [LM] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »