Benin has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Benin and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Benin Country Quick General Knowledge

CurrencyWest African CFA franc
GroupAfrican Union
ConstitutionAugust 1, 1960
National Anthem of CountryL'Aube Nouvelle, (The Dawn of a New Day)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

There is little information about the early history of Benin. From the 17th to the 19th century, the main political units in the area were the kingdom of Dahome as well as the city-state of Porto-Novo and a large area with many different countries to the north. The region was referred to as the slave coast since the early 17th century due to the large number of slaves shipped to the New World during the Trans-Atlantic slave trade. After abolishing slavery, France took over the country and renamed it French Dahemy. In 1960, Dahomey gained complete independence from France. Since then there has been a history of the sovereign state with many different democratic governments, military coups and military governments. A Marxist-Leninist state called the People's Republic of Benin existed between 1975 and 1990. In 1991, it was replaced by the current multi-party Republic of Benin.
Benin is bordered by Togo in the west, Burkina Faso and Niger in the north, Nigeria in the east and Benin in the south. The distance from the Niger River in the north to the Atlantic Ocean in the south is approximately 650 km (404 mi). It is one of the smaller countries in West Africa, the eighth size of Nigeria, which is its neighboring country in the east. However, it is twice as large as its neighbor Togo in the west. A relief map from Benin shows that there is little variation in its elevation, averaging 200 m (656 ft) in elevation.
Benin's economy is underdeveloped and dependent on subsistence agriculture and cotton. Cotton accounts for 40% of Benin's GDP and about 80% of official export receipts. Textiles, palm products and cocoa beans are also produced. Maize (corn), beans, rice, peanuts, cashews, pineapples, cassava, yams, and various other tubers are grown for local subsistence. Benin began production of small amounts of offshore oil in October 1982. Production has stopped in recent years but exploration of new sites continues.
Benin is a linguistically diverse country. A total of 55 languages ​​are spoken in Benin, of which 50 are indigenous. Among them, French is the official language, and all native languages ​​are considered national languages. Among the Beninese languages, Fon (a Gobi language) and Yoruba are the most important in the south of the country. There are half a dozen regional languages ​​in the north, including Bariba (once counted as the Guru language) and Phulful.
  • Benin became independent from the clutches of France on 1 August 1960. Benin was a French colony between 1900 and 1958 (58 years).
  • The country was named Benin on 30 November 1975, before which it was known as Dahomey.
  • The capital of Benin, Porto Novo, was developed as a port for the slave trade.
  • In the 1990s, Benin was the first country to transition from a dictatorship to a multilateral democracy.
  • The total area of ​​Benin country is 114,763 square km (44,310 mi).
  • Benin borders Nigeria to the east, Togo to the west, Burkina Faso to the north-west, and Niger borders to the north.
  • The currency of Benin is the West African CFA Franc.
  • The official language of Benin is French. Indigenous languages ​​such as Yoruba and Phon are also commonly spoken in Benin.
  • The economy of Benin country is also dependent on agriculture and regional trade and cotton is the main export item of the country.
  • The red color on the Benin flag is a symbol of courage, yellow is a symbol of wealth, green is a symbol of hope and resurrection.
  • 16 August 1777 - Under the leadership of American revolutionary war-Americans, General Johnstark, British and Brearswick soldiers were subjected to Frederick Bome in Brelett, Benington in Wallomosac, New York.
Burkina Faso [L] , Niger [L] , Nigeria [LM] , Togo [LM] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Benin FAQs:

The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo.

The currency of Benin is West African CFA franc.

Benin is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in Benin are French, Fon, Yoruba, tribal languages.

The national anthem of Benin is "L'Aube Nouvelle, (The Dawn of a New Day)".

Benin country part of the African Union like large International groups.

Benin country founded on August 1, 1960.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  10636
  Post Category :  Africa Continent