East Timor (Timor-Leste) History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 25th, 2021 in Asia Continent, Country Information

East Timor (Timor-Leste) has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the East Timor (Timor-Leste) and important events related to East Timor (Timor-Leste) history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

East Timor (Timor-Leste) Country Profile

CountryEast Timor (Timor-Leste)
CurrencyUnited States Dollar

East Timor (Timor-Leste) History

East Timor was colonized by Portugal in the 16th century and was known as Portuguese Timor until 28 November 1975, when the Revolutionary Front for an independent East Timor (Fretilin) ​​declared independence of the region. Shortly thereafter it was invaded and captured by the Indonesian army, the following year it was declared the 27th province of Indonesia. In 1999, after the United Nations-sponsored Act of Self-Determination, Indonesia ended control of the region. As "Timor-Leste", it became the first new sovereign state of the 21st century on 20 May 2002 and joined the United Nations and the community of Portuguese-language countries.

East Timor (Timor-Leste) Geography

The island of Timor, located in southeast Asia, is part of Maritime Southeast Asia, and is the largest and eastern part of the Lesser Dunda Islands. To the north of the island are the Ombai Strait, the Waiter Strait and the Banda Banda Sea. The Timor Sea separates the island from Australia to the south, and the Indonesian province of East Nusa Tenggara lies west of East Timor. The majority of the country is mountainous, and its highest point is Tatamelu (also known as Mount Ramelau) at 2,963 meters (9,721 ft).

East Timor (Timor-Leste) Economy

The economy of East Timor is a market economy that relied on exports of certain commodities such as coffee, marble, petroleum, and sandalwood, and all of which grew at about 10% in 2011 and at a similar rate in 2012. In 2011, East Timor announced to be the eleventh member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). It is one of only two predominantly Christian nations in Southeast Asia, the other being the Philippines, as well as the only country in Asia that is completely located in the Southern Hemisphere. East Timor now has revenue from offshore oil and gas reserves, but very little of it has been spent on the development of villages still dependent on subsistence farming. By 2012, nearly half of East Timori's population was living in extreme poverty.

East Timor (Timor-Leste) Language

The two official languages of East Timor are Portuguese and Tetum. Sometimes English and Indonesian are used. Tetum belongs to the Austronesian family of languages spoken in Southeast Asia and the Pacific.

East Timor (Timor-Leste) Important Facts

  • East Timor is officially called the Timor-Leste Democratic Republic which is located in the Southeast of Asia.
  • East Timor gained independence from Portugal on 28 November 1975 and Indonesia on 20 May 2002.
  • The total area of ​​East Timor is 15,410 sq km. (5,950 square miles).
  • The official languages ​​of East Timor are Tetum and Portuguese.
  • The currency of East Timor is named United States Dollar.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of East Timor in 2016 was 1.2 million.
  • In East Timor, the religion of most people is Christian.
  • The highest peak in East Timor is Tatamailau, whose height is 2,986 meters.
  • The longest river in East Timor is the Northern Laclo River.
  • Nino Konis Santana National Park in East Timor is the first and only national park in East Timor.
  • There is a statue of Jesus named Cristo Rei of Dili in East Timor, located in Dili in East Timor, which is 27 meters (88.6 ft) high.
  • The national animal of East Timor is the dreaded crocodile.
  • The national flower of East Timor is Hibiscus Flowers.
  • The national dish of East Timor is Ikan Pepes.

2 Neighbour countries of East Timor (Timor-Leste)

Australia [M] , Indonesia [LM] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »