Azerbaijan has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Azerbaijan and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Azerbaijan Country Quick General Knowledge

CurrencyAzerbaijani manat
Father/Founder of CountryMammad Amin Rasulzade
National Anthem of CountryAzərbaycan marşı, (Azerbaijan's Anthem)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

There are many types of concepts about the origin of the name Azerbaijan. The most prevalent theorem is that the name derives from the word atropatan. Atropt was a satrap in the time of the Persian Akaminaid dynasty, invaded and defeated by Alexander the Great and Atropton gained independence. At that time this area was known as Media Atropatia or Atropatin. In 1918 the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic declared its independence and became the first secular democratic Muslim-majority state.
Azerbaijan is a republic in the eastern part of the Caucasus, located in the middle of Eastern Europe and Asia. Geographically, it is part of Asia. Its frontier countries are: Armenia, Georgia, Russia, Iran, Turkey and its coastal part bordered by the Caspian Sea. It was part of the former Soviet Union until 1991. Azerbaijan is a secular country and a member of the Council since 2001. Most of the population is a follower of the religion of Islam and this country is also a member nation of the Islamic Conference Association. This country is slowly moving towards formal but authoritarian democracy.
After gaining independence in 1991, Azerbaijan became a member of the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the Islamic Development Bank and the Asian Development Bank. Azerbaijan's banking system consists of the Central Bank of Azerbaijan, commercial banks and non-banking credit organizations. The National (now Central) Bank was formed in 1992 on the basis of Azerbaijan State Savings Bank, an affiliate of the former State Savings Bank of the USSR. The Central Bank acts as the central bank of Azerbaijan, which has the authority to issue national currency, Azerbaijani mannets, and to monitor all commercial banks. The two major commercial banks are UniBank and Azerbaijan's state-owned international banks, run by Dr. Jahangir Hajyev.
The official language is Azerbaijan, which is an Ottoman language. Azerbaijan is spoken by around 92% of the population as mother tongue. Russian and Armenian (spoken only in Nagorno-Karbakh) are spoken, and each is the mother tongue of approximately 1.5% of the population respectively. Russian and English play an important role as the second or third language of education and communication. A dozen other minority languages ​​are spoken in the country. Avar, Budukh, Georgian, Juhuri, Khinalugh, Kriyats, Lezifian, Rutul, Talish, Tat, Tsakhur and Udi are all spoken by small minorities. Some of these language communities are very small and their numbers are decreasing. Armenian is almost exclusively spoken in the break-away Nagorno-Karbakh region.
  • 30 March 1918 - Bolshevik and Dashkak forces suppressed the Muslim insurgency in Azerbaijan, resulting in over 12,000 deaths.
  • 24 February 1918 - The city of Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia Trio gained independence from Russia in the form of the Transascogenic Democratic Federal Republic.
  • 28 May 1918 - Azerbaijan Democratic Republic and First Republic of Armenia declare their freedom. The first republic of Armenia was the first modern Armenian state to be known in the time of its existence since the fall of the Kingdom of Silisia in 1375.
  • 13 October 1921 - The Soviet Republics of Russia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Jigoria signed a curse treaty with the Grand National Assembly of Turkey to establish contemporary borders between Turkey and South Caucasus states.
  • 20 February 1988 - The Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast voted to secede from Azerbaijan and join Armenia, triggering the Nagorno-Karabakh War.
  • 27 February 1988 - The Armenian community of Sumgait in Azerbaijan was the targetof a violent pogrom.
  • 20 January 1990 - The Soviet Red Army violently cracked down on Azeri pro-independence demonstrations in Baku, Azerbaijan SSR.
  • 20 November 1991 - Nagorno-Karbakh War-A Azerbaijan military helicopter, a peace guard mission team was shot in Nagorno-Karabakh, Azerbaijan, which disrupted the ongoing peace talks.
  • 10 April 1992 - Nagorno-Karbakh, at least 40 Armenian citizens were attacked in Maraga, Azerbaijan.
  • 25 February 1992 - Nagorno-Karabakh War-Armenian armed forces killed 613 ethnic Azerbaijani civilians from the town of Khojali in the Nagorno-Karabakhregion of Azerbaijan.
Armenia [L] , Georgia [L] , Iran [LM] , Kazakhstan [M] , Russia [LM] , Turkey [L] , Turkmenistan [M] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Azerbaijan FAQs:

The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku.

The currency of Azerbaijan is Azerbaijani manat.

Azerbaijan is the part of Asia continent.

The languages spoken in Azerbaijan are Azerbaijani Turkic, Russian, Armenian, other.

The national anthem of Azerbaijan is "Azərbaycan marşı, (Azerbaijan's Anthem)".

Mammad Amin Rasulzade is considered the founder/father of Modern Azerbaijan.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  8102
  Post Category :  Asia Continent