Ecuador has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Ecuador and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Ecuador Country Quick General Knowledge

CurrencyUnited States Dollar
ContinentSouth America
Father/Founder of CountrySimon Bolivar
National Anthem of CountrySalve, Oh Patria, (We Salute You, Our Homeland)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

Ecuador was part of the Northern Inca Empire until it was conquered by Spain in 1533. In 1563, Cuito became a center of the Spanish Empire and in 1717 became part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada. Areas of viceroylty such as New Granada (Colombia), Venezuela and Cuito declared their independence between 1819 and 1822 and formed a federation called Gran Colombia. Protests in Quito led to the ousting of the previous three democratic governments in Ecuador before the term was completed. The Constituent Assembly was elected in 2007 to draft the new constitution, and is the 20th constitution of Ecuador since independence.
Ecuador has a total area of 283,561 km2 including the Galápagos Islands. Of this, 276,841 km2 is land and 6,720 km2 is water. Ecuador is larger in South America than Uruguay, Suriname, Guyana and French Guyana.
Ecuador is heavily dependent on its oil resources, which account for more than half of the country's revenue from exports, and a quarter of the public sector's revenue. Ecuador faced a deep economic crisis in 1999–2000 that led to a 6% decrease in the country's GDP and also an increase in the number of people living below the poverty line. The banking sector also collapsed and Ecuador also missed its external debt payments that year. Many structural reforms were approved by the National Congress in 2000, which also provided for the adoption of US dollars as a legal tender. The economy was strengthened due to dollars and the growth accelerated again in the coming years thanks to high oil prices, remittances and increase in unconventional exports.
Most Ecuador speak the Spanish language as their first language, with its ubiquity being allowed and dominated in most areas of the country, although there are many who speak an Amerindian language, such as Kichwa (also spelled Quechua), Which is one of the Quechuan languages and is spoken by about 2.5 million people in Ecuador, Bolivia, Colombia and Peru.
  • Ecuador is officially called the Republic of Ecuador, a country located on the continent of South America.
  • Ecuador is bordered by Colombia to the north, Peru to the east and south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.
  • Ecuador gained independence from Gran Colombia on 13 May 1830.
  • The total area of ​​Ecuador is 283,561 sq km. (109,484 sq mi).
  • The official language of Ecuador is Spanish.
  • The currency of Ecuador is named American Dollar.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of Ecuador in 2016 was 1.64 crore.
  • The tallest mountain in Ecuador is Khashm Ghuḑayy, which has a height of 110 meters.
  • Ecuador is the 8th largest economy in Latin America and has grown rapidly in the last decade.
  • The literacy rate in Ecuador is 93%.
  • Ecuador has a lot of biodiversity. There are about 25,000 species of plants and 1,600 species of birds in the country.
  • The national sport of Ecuador is football.
  • Ecuador was the first country in the world to add rights to nature to its constitution.
  • The first expedition to measure the circumference of the Earth began in Ecuador.
  • Ecuador is the largest exporter of cacao beans in the world.
  • 14 November 1533 - Spanish explorers located Ecuador in the northwest of South America and incorporated it into their colony.
  • 04 February 1797 - More than 41 thousand people died in the devastating earthquake in Quito, the capital of Ecuador.
  • 10 August 1809 - Ecuador declared independence from Spain.
  • 13 May 1830 - The establishment of the Republic of Ecuador, Juan Jose Florence became the first president.
  • 13 May 1830 - Ecuador was separated from Gran Colombia.
  • 13 August 1868 - Earthquakes in Peru and Ecuador killed 25,000 people and caused $ 300 million in damage.
  • 01 June 1929 - The first conference of Communist parties of Latin America was held in Buenos Aires. The first conference of Communist parties of Latin America was held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, June 1–12, 1929. 38 delegates represented Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Al Salvador, Guatemala, Cuba, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay. , Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela attended the meeting. The only established Communist Party, who did not participate in the region, was the Communist Party of Chile, who had to face the harsh repression under the Ibnez Sarkar at that time.
  • 14 February 1945 - Peru, Paraguay, Chile and Ecuador became members of the United Nations.
  • 08 August 1949 - In 1949, a disastrous earthquake shocked Ecuador, killing 4,600 people and caused an estimated loss of $ 20 million. In addition, a rescue plane crashed and killed 34 people. Four government dignitaries, 28 shell oil company employees and members of the crew were members in the aircraft accident.
  • 05 August 1949 - A quake measuring 6.7 struck Ecuador's capital Quito, killing six thousand people.
Colombia [LM] , Costa Rica [M] , Peru [LM] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Ecuador FAQs:

The capital of Ecuador is Quito.

The currency of Ecuador is United States Dollar.

Ecuador is the part of South America continent.

The languages spoken in Ecuador are Spanish, Quechua, other Amerindian languages.

The national anthem of Ecuador is "Salve, Oh Patria, (We Salute You, Our Homeland)".

Simon Bolivar is considered the founder/father of Modern Ecuador.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  13775
  Post Category :  South America Continent