Equatorial Guinea has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Equatorial Guinea and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Equatorial Guinea Country Quick General Knowledge

CountryEquatorial Guinea
CurrencyCentral African CFA franc
GroupAfrican Union, OPEC
ConstitutionOctober  12, 1968
National Anthem of CountryCaminemos pisando las sendas de nuestra inmensa felicidad, (Let Us Tread the Path of our Immense Happiness)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

In March 1968, under pressure from the Equatoguin nationalists and the United Nations, Spain announced that it would grant independence to Equatorial Guinea. A constitutional convention drafted an electoral law and constitution. In the presence of the United Nations Observer Team, a referendum was held on August 11, 1968, and 63% of voters voted in favor of the Constitution, which provided for government-appointed judges with a General Assembly and the Supreme Court.
Equatorial Guinea, officially the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, is a country located in Central Africa. Spread over an area of ​​28,000 square kilometers, one of the smallest countries in continental Africa, this country has an estimated population of over 1.2 million by 2015. The country is divided into two parts, the continental region (Rio Muni), which includes several small offshore islands such as Corrisco, Ilobe Grande and Ilobe Chico, on the other hand is the island region, which includes Annobon Island and Bioco Island (formerly Fernado Po). Is where the capital Malabo is located.
Equatorial Guinea's economy has traditionally been dependent on commodities such as cocoa and coffee, but is now heavily dependent on petroleum due to the discovery and exploitation of significant oil reserves in the 1980s. Equatorial Guinea has a per capita purchasing power parity GDP of over US $ 38,699.
Spanish was the official languages from 1844 and French and Spanish (the local version is Equatoguin Spanish) Portuguese was also adopted as an official language in 2010. It is also the language of education and administration. 67.6% of people in Equatorial Guinea can speak it.
  • Equatorial Guinea is officially called the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, which is located in the middle of Africa.
  • Equatorial Guinea is divided into two parts, the first continental region called Rio Muni is derived from the river Muni and the second is the island region.
  • Equatorial Guinea is bordered by Cameroon to the north, Gabon to the south and east, and the Gulf of Guinea to the west.
  • Equatorial Guinea gained independence from Spain on 12 October 1968, it was called the Spaniard Guinea colony before independence.
  • The total area of ​​Equatorial Guinea is 28,050 sq km. (10,830 square miles).
  • The official languages ​​of Equatorial Guinea are Spanish, French and Portuguese. Spanish has been the official language since 1844 and Portuguese since 2010.
  • Equatorial Guinea's currency is named Central African CFA Franc before it was the currency of Ewewele or ekuele between 1975 and 1985.
  • According to the World Bank, its total population in 2016 was 1.221 million.
  • Equatorial Guinea indigenous people belong to the Bantu community but the larger ethnic group is the Fangs, who constitute 80% of the total population.
  • Equatorial Guinea is divided into eight provinces (Annobon, Bioco Norte, Bioco Sur, Santro Sur, Keye Ntem, Littoral, Valle Njas and Djibloho).
  • The latest of the eight provinces in Equatorial Guinea is Djibloho, formed in 2017 as the headquarters of Oyala, the country's future capital.
  • The only international airport in Equatorial Guinea is Malabo International Airport.
  • Equatorial Guinea has a tropical climate with dry and humid climates at different locations.
  • The main religion in Equatorial Guinea is Christian, accounting for 93% of the total population.
  • Bata is the largest city in Equatorial Guinea and was previously the capital of the country but currently Malabo (de Jur) and Oyala is its capital.
  • 12 October 1968 - Spain declared Equatorial Guinea as its independent.
  • 12 October 1968 - Equatorial Guinea, a country located in Central Africa, gained independence from Spain and this day was declared the national day of this country.
Cameroon [LM] , Gabon [LM] , Nigeria [M] , Sao Tome and Principe [M] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Equatorial Guinea FAQs:

The capital of Equatorial Guinea is Malabo.

The currency of Equatorial Guinea is Central African CFA franc.

Equatorial Guinea is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in Equatorial Guinea are Spanish, French, pidgin English, Fang, Bubi, Ibo.

The national anthem of Equatorial Guinea is "Caminemos pisando las sendas de nuestra inmensa felicidad, (Let Us Tread the Path of our Immense Happiness)".

Equatorial Guinea country part of the African Union, OPEC like large International groups.

Equatorial Guinea country founded on October  12, 1968.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  10549
  Post Category :  Africa Continent