Republic of the congo has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Republic of the congo and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Republic of the congo Country Quick General Knowledge

CountryRepublic of the congo
CurrencyCongolese franc
GroupAfrican Union
ConstitutionAugust 15, 1960
National Anthem of CountryLa Congolaise, (The Congolese)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

The region was dominated by Bantu-speaking tribes at least 3,000 years ago, who built the leading trade links in the Congo River Basin. The Congo was formerly part of the French colony of Equatorial Africa. The Republic of Congo was founded on 28 November 1958 and gained independence from France in 1960. It was a Marxist-Leninist state from 1969 to 1992, named the People's Republic of Congo.
Congo is located in the mid-western part of Sub-Saharan Africa, with the Democratic Republic of Congo to its south and east. It is also bounded by Gabon in the west, Cameroon and Central African Republic in the north and Cabinda (Angola) in the southwest. It has a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean. The capital, Brezzaville, is located on the Congo River, in the south of the country, some distance from Kinshasa, the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo.
The Republic of Congo has become the fourth largest oil producer in the Gulf of Guinea, giving the country a degree of prosperity and uneven distribution of oil revenues across the country, despite political and economic instability in some regions. The Congo's economy is heavily dependent on the oil sector, and economic growth has slowed significantly since the 2015 oil price drop.
The population of the Republic of Congo is ethnically and linguistically diverse, with 62 spoken languages being recognized in the country but can be divided into three categories. The Congo is the largest ethnic group and constitutes about half of the population.
  • The Republic of Congo is located in the middle of Africa, its borders are Gabon, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo Democratic Republic, the Angolan outskirts of Kabinda and the Gulf of Guinea.
  • On 15 August 1960, the Republic of Congo gained full independence from France.
  • The official language of the Republic of Congo is French and the recognized regional languages ​​are Congo or Kituba and Lingala.
  • The total area of ​​the Republic of Congo is 342,000 sq km. (132,047 sq mi).
  • The currency of the Republic of the Congo is named the Central African CFA Franc.
  • The highest mountain in the Republic of Congo is Nabemba, which has an altitude of 1,020 meters.
  • According to the World Bank Report 2016, the total population of the Republic of Congo is 51.3 lakh.
  • Dioso Gorge, also known as the Grand Canyon of the Congo, is surrounded by red rocks and rainforests.
  • The Congo has a tropical climate, which is filled with high temperatures and humidity, especially near the equator.
  • The yellow stripe in the Congo flag is a symbol of friendship and the nobility of the Congolese people; the green stripe symbolizes agriculture and prosperous forests, and the red stripe symbolizes the struggle and bloodshed of freedom.
  • 08 February 1979 - Denis Sassou Nguesso was chosen as the new President of the Republic of the Congo after Joachim Yhombi-Opango was forced from power.
  • 09 December 2008 - Peace talks have started between the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the National Congress to protect people to be intermediated by the United Nations.
  • 28 March 2010 - British broadcasts reveal evidence of a massacre in the Democratic Republic of the Congo carried out by Lord's Resistance Army last December, in which 321 people, including children, were killed.
  • 27 January 2012 - The main opposition leader of the Democratic Republic of the Congo condemns parliamentary election as rigged. He calls for a strike in protest of his house arrest.
Angola [LM] , Cameroon [L] , Central African Republic [L] , Democratic Republic of the Congo [LM] , Gabon [LM] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Republic of the congo FAQs:

The capital of Republic of the congo is Brazzaville.

The currency of Republic of the congo is Congolese franc.

Republic of the congo is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in Republic of the congo are French, Lingala, Monokutuba, Kikongo, many local languages and dialects.

The national anthem of Republic of the congo is "La Congolaise, (The Congolese)".

Republic of the congo country part of the African Union like large International groups.

Republic of the congo country founded on August 15, 1960.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  12015
  Post Category :  Africa Continent