Saint Kitts and Nevis History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 26th, 2021 in Country Information, North America Continent

Saint Kitts and Nevis has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Saint Kitts and Nevis and important events related to Saint Kitts and Nevis history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Country Profile

CountrySaint Kitts and Nevis
CurrencyEastern Caribbean dollar
ContinentNorth America

Saint Kitts and Nevis History

Anguilla's British dependence was historically a part of this union, then collectively known as St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla. However, Anguilla chose to secede from the Union and remained a British foreign territory. To the north-northwest lie the islands of Sint Eustatius, Sabah, St. Barthelemy, Sint Maarten, and Anguilla. To the east and north-east are Antigua and Barbuda, and to the south-east are the small uninhabited islands of Redonda (part of Antigua and Barbuda) and Montserrat Island. St. Kitts and Nevis were among the first islands in the Caribbean to be colonized by Europeans. St. Kitts was home to the first British and French colonies in the Caribbean, and is thus also called the homeland of the West Indies. It is also the most recent British region in the Caribbean to become independent in 1983.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Geography

The Union of St. Kitts and Nevis is a bilateral federal country located on Leeward Island in the West Indies. It is the smallest sovereign nation in South America and North America in terms of area and population. The country's capital and government headquarters is Besetri, located on the largest island, Set Kits. The small state of Nevis is located in the southeast. Historically, British dependent territory Anguella was also once part of this division. St. Kitts and Nevis are among the first Caribbean islands where Europeans first settled. St. Kitts was formerly the stronghold of the British and French Colony in the Caribbean.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Economy

St. Kitts and Nevis is a twin-island federation characterized by its major tourism, agricultural and light manufacturing industries. Sugar was the primary export from the 1940s, but the government's efforts to reduce the cost of production, low world market prices and dependence on it led to the increasing diversification of the agricultural sector. In 2005, the government decided to shut down the state-owned sugar company, which experienced losses and contributed significantly to the fiscal deficit.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Language

English is the only official language. St. Kitts Creole is also widely spoken.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Important Facts

  • St. Kitts and Nevis is officially called the Union of St. Christopher and Nevis.
  • St. Kitts and Nevis gained independence from the United Kingdom on 19 September 1983.
  • The total area of ​​St. Kitts and Nevis is 261 sq km. (101 square miles).
  • The official language of St. Kitts and Nevis is English.
  • The currency of St. Kitts and Nevis is the East Caribbean Dollar.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of St. Kitts and Nevis in 2016 was 54,821.
  • The religion of most people in St. Kitts and Nevis is Christian.
  • The highest mountain in St. Kitts and Nevis is Mount Liamuiga which is stratovolcano with a height of 1,156 meters.
  • The longest river in St. Kitts and Nevis is the Parsons Ghut.
  • The climate of St. Kitts and Nevis is tropical savanna and tropical monsoon climate with average monthly temperatures ranging from 23.9 ° C to 26.6 ° C.
  • The national bird of St. Kitts and Nevis is the Brown Pelican.
  • The national dish of St. Kitts and Nevis is stewed.
  • The national flower of St. Kitts and Nevis is the poinciana.

Populated Cities of Saint Kitts and Nevis


5 Neighbour countries of Saint Kitts and Nevis

Antigua and Barbuda [M] , France [M] , Netherlands [M] , United Kingdom [M] , Venezuela [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »