Somalia History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 24th, 2021 in Africa Continent, Country Information

Somalia has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Somalia and important events related to Somalia history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Somalia Country Profile

CurrencySomali shilling
GroupAfrican Union, Arab League
FormationJuly 1, 1960
FounderMohammed Abdullah Hassan

Somalia History

In the late 19th century, Somalia was colonized by the European powers, Britain and then Italy. The British and Italians established colonies of British Somaliland and Italian Somaliland. And the Italians established the colony of Italian Somaliland. In the interior, Mohammed Abdullah Hassan's Darwesh movement managed to frustrate the British four times in neighboring British Somaliland, forcing them to retreat before the forced coastline, ultimately losing out in the 1920 Somaliland campaign. Italy gained full control of the Northeast, Central and Southern parts after successfully running the Sultanates' campaign against the ruling Majhirah Sultanate and the Sultanate of Hobyo.

In 1960, the two regions united under a civilian government to form an independent Somali republic, and the Supreme Revolutionary Council took power in 1969 and established the Somali Democratic Republic, which, 22 years later, in 1991, Somali home The war ended with the beginning. After World War II, Britain controlled both British Somaliland and Italian Somaliland as protectors.

Somalia Geography

Somalia is a country located in the Horn of Africa, officially consisting of six federal member states, such as the Galmudug, Hirschbelt, Jubaland, Southwest, Puntland, Somaliland and Benadir municipalities. It is located in Ethiopia to the west, Djibouti to the northwest, the Gulf of Aden to the north, the Somali Sea and the Gardafui Channel to the east and Kenya to the southwest. This country with a land area of ​​637,657 square kilometers, the territory of Somalia consists mainly of plateaus, plains and highlands. Its coastline is more than 3,333 kilometers long in mainland Africa. Somalia is a semi-arid country with about 1.64% of arable land.

Somalia Economy

Even after two decades of civil war, Somalia's economy has survived as an informal economy, largely based on livestock, remittances / money transfers from abroad, and telecommunications. Somalia is classified as the least developed country by the United Nations. Somalia's economy includes both traditional and modern production, with gradual changes involving more modern industrial technologies. According to the Central Bank of Somalia, about 80% of the population is nomadic or semi-nomadic pastoralists, who keep goats, sheep, camels and cattle. In 2014, the International Monetary Fund estimated a 3.7 percent expansion driven primarily by growth in primary sector and secondary sector in economic activity.

Somalia Language

Somali and Arabic are the official languages of Somalia. The Somali language is the mother tongue of the Somali people, the most populous ethnic group in the country. It is a member of the Cushitic branch of the Afro-Asian language family, Somali dialects are divided into three main groups: Northern, Benadir and Mayo. Somali is the best documented of Cushitic languages, including academic studies dating back to 1900.

Somalia Important Facts

  • Somalia, officially called the Federal Republic of Somalia, was formerly known as the Somali Democratic Republic.
  • Somalia is located in the east of Africa. It borders Djibouti in the northwest, Kenya in the southwest, the Gulf of Aden in the north, the Indian Ocean in the east, and Ethiopia in the west.
  • Somalia gained independence from the United Kingdom (UK) and Italy from 26 June and 1 July 1960.
  • The total area of ​​Somalia is 637,657 sq km. (246,201 square miles).
  • The official languages ​​of Somalia are Somali and Arabic.
  • The name of the currency of Somalia is Somalian Shilling.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of Somalia in 2016 was 1.43 crore.
  • Most of Somalia's religion is Islam, which belongs to the Sunni community.
  • Since 1991, there has been a planetary war in Somalia.
  • The highest mountain in Somalia is Mount Shimbiris, which is 2,460 meters (8,071 feet) high.
  • The largest river in Somalia is the Shebelle River, which is 702 miles in length.
  • The national animal of Somalia is the leopard.

Somalia Important History Events

  • 27 june 1977 - France granted freedom to Djibouti. Republic of Djibouti is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden at the east.
  • 13 july 1977 - Ethiopia and Somalia went to war over the disputed Ogadenregion in eastern Ethiopia.
  • 26 october 1977 - Somalian hospital cook Ali Maow Maalin began displayingsymptoms in the last known case of naturally occurring smallpox.
  • 15 March 1978 - Somalia and Ethiopia signed a ceasefire to end the Ethio-Somali War.
  • 23 September 1979 - The constitution of Somalia was approved by the President.
  • 05 january 1991 - The United States Embassy to Somalia in Mogadishu was evacuated by helicopter airlift days after violence enveloped Mogadishu during the Somali Civil War.
  • 26 january 1991 - Factions led by warlord Mohamed Farrah Aidid and his rebel group, the United Somali Congress, ousted President of Somalia Siad Barre from office.
  • 18 may 1991 - The Somali National Movement declared the independence of Somaliland, a de facto state that is internationally recognised as an autonomous region of Somalia, following the collapse of central government during the Somali Civil War.
  • 04 december 1992 - US President George H. W. Bush ordered American troops into Somalia to help provide humanitarian aid and restore order during theongoing Somali Civil War.
  • 03 october 1993 - American armed forces attempted to capture officials ofSomalian warlord Mohamed Farrah Aidid's organization at the Battle ofMogadishu.

Populated Cities of Somalia

Beledweyne, Gaalkacyo, Mereeg, Caluula, Boosaaso, Dhuusa Mareeb, Luuq, Buurhakaba, Buur Gaabo, Garoowe, Kismaayo, Marka, Eyl, Jamaame, Hurdiyo, Hudur, Bu'aale, Bandarbeyla, Qardho, Baydhabo, Garbahaarey, Jawhar, Mogadishu, Laascaanood, Burco, Ceerigaabo, Baki, Hargeysa,

4 Neighbour countries of Somalia

Ethiopia [L] , Kenya [LM] , Republic of Djibouti [LM] , Yemen [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »