President Draupadi Murmu appointed 13 new governors accepting the resignation of Radha Krishnan Mathur as Lt. Governor of Ladakh. The complete list of new governors is as follows:-

Who is called the governor?

In the Republic of India, the governor is the constitutional post of head of state in 28 states. The Governor is appointed by the President for a term of five years and holds office during the pleasure of the President. The Governor is the legal head of the State Government whose executive functions are carried out in the name of the Governor.

List of current governors of Indian states:-

State Name Name of the Governor &  Assumed (Term)
Arunachal Pradesh Lt. Gen. Kaivalya Trivikram Parnaik  (12 February 2023)
Assam Gulab Chand Kataria (12 February 2023)
Andhra Pradesh S Abdul Nazir (12 February 2023)
Uttar Pradesh Anandiben Patel (29 July 2019)
Uttarakhand Gurmeet Singh (Gen) (15 September 2021)
Odisha Prof. Ganesh Lal (29 May 2018)
Karnataka Thavarchand Gehlot (07 July 2021)
Kerala Arif Mohammad Khan (06 September 2019)
Gujarat Acharya Devvrat (22 July 2019)
Goa P S Sreedharan Pillai (07 July 2021)
Chhattisgarh Biswa Bhushan Harichandan (12 February 2023)
Jharkhand CP Radhakrishnan (12 February 2023)
Tamil Nadu Rabindra Narayan Ravi (18 September 2021)
Telangana Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan (08 September 2019)
Tripura Satyadev Narayan Arya (07 July 2021)
Nagaland La Ganesan (12 February 2023)
Punjab Banwarilal Purohit (August 31, 2021)
West Bengal Jagdeep Dhankhar (30 July 2019)
Bihar Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar (12 February 2023)
Manipur La. Ganesan (27 August 2021)
Madhya Pradesh Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel (06 July 2021)
Maharashtra Ramesh Bais (12 February 2023)
Mizoram Dr.Hari Babu Kambhampati (07 July 2021)
Meghalaya Tathagata Roy (27 January 2020)
Rajasthan Kalraj Mishra (09 September 2019)
Sikkim Laxman Prasad Acharya (12 February 2023)
Haryana Bandaru Dattatreya (07 July 2021)
Himachal Pradesh Shiv Pratap Shukla (12 February 2023)

Who appoints the governor?

According to Article 155 of the Constitution- The Governor shall be appointed directly by the President, but in fact the Governor is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister of India. In relation to the appointment of the Governor, the following two types of practices were formed: -

  • No person shall be appointed as the Governor of the State of which he is a resident.
  • The Chief Minister of the concerned state will be consulted before the appointment of the Governor.

This practice was adopted from 1950 to 1967, but in the elections of 1967, when non-Congress governments were formed in some states, then the second practice was abolished and the Governor was appointed without consulting the Chief Minister.

Powers, Functions and Privileges of the Governor:

  • The Governor is not responsible to any court for the exercise of the powers and performance of the duties of his office.
  • During the term of office of the Governor, no criminal proceedings can be initiated against him in any court.
  • When the Governor is in office, no process can be issued from any court for his arrest or imprisonment.
  • He has to give two months prior notice before taking any civil action in respect of work done by him in his personal capacity before or after assuming the office of Governor.

Read these also:-List of current governors of Indian states

  Last update :  12 February 2023
  News Category :  Politics
  Post Category :  February 2023