Latvia History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 26th, 2021 in Country Information, Europe Continent

Latvia has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Latvia and important events related to Latvia history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Latvia Country Profile


Latvia History

From the thirteenth to the sixteenth centuries Latvia extended to Livonia and Courland and was under Prussian kings. Latvia was conquered by Poland and Sweden in the seventeenth century. It was during the Russian Civil War, most of Latvia's military wars waged a 1918 war against Germany in favor of the Bolsheviks. Latvia first came into existence as an independent nation. Latvia gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. Latvia became a member of the European Union on 1 May 2004.

Latvia Geography

Latvia is located in northern Europe, on the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea and in the northwestern part of the Eastern European Cretan (EEC). Latvia has a temperate climate that has been described in various sources as humid continental (Köppen DFB) or marine / marine (Köppen CFB). Latvia has the 5th highest proportion of forest cover in the European Union after Sweden, Finland, Estonia and Slovenia. Forests account for 3,497,000 hectares (8,640,000 acres) or 56% of the total land area.

Latvia Economy

Latvia has one of the highest growth rates in Europe since the year 2000. However, Latvian GDP collapsed in late 2008 and early 2009 due to Latvia's primarily consumption-driven growth, which was further hit by the global economic slowdown. The Latvian economy declined by 18% in the first three months of 2009, the highest in the European Union. Currently Latvia is a member of the World Trade Organization (since 1999) and the European Union (since 2004).

Latvia Language

The Latvian language is the official language of Latvia. The number of first speakers of this language is 1.4 million. Additionally, 1,50,000 people speak this language in other countries. The number of non-indigenous people speaking the Latvian language is relatively high, which is much for a small language. Due to the language policy of Latvia, 60% of the 8 million ethnic-minority population here speaks this language. The use of Latvian language is increasing in the social life of Latvia.

Latvia Important Facts

  • Latvia is officially called the Republic of Latvia. It is a country located in north-eastern Europe.
  • Latvia is bordered by Lithuania, Estonia, Belarus and Russia.
  • Latvia gained independence from the Soviet Union on 17 September 1991.
  • The total area of ​​Latvia is 64,589 sq km. (24,938 sq mi).
  • The official language of Latvia is Latvian.
  • The name of the currency of Latvia is Lats.
  • According to the World Bank, Latvia had a total population of 19.6 million in 2016.
  • Latvia became a member of the European Union on 01 May 2004.
  • Latvia is the tallest female found in the world, with an average height of 170 cm.
  • Latvia also holds the world record for longest phone conversation (54 hours 4 minutes in 2012).
  • The national sport of Latvia is ice hockey.
  • Ventas Rumba is the largest waterfall in Europe, located in Kuldiga, Latvia.
  • Latvia has the fourth fastest internet connection in the world and Riga, the country's capital, has more than 800 free connections.
  • The University of Latvia is the oldest university in Latvia and is located in the capital Riga.
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Ostwald is the only Latvian to win the Nobel Prize. In the year 1909, he was given the prestigious award in Chemistry for his work on catalysis, chemical equilibrium and reaction velocities.

Latvia Important History Events

  • 02 february 1207 - Terra Mariana, comprising present-day Estonia and Latvia, was established as a principality of the Holy Roman Empire.
  • 23 june 1919 - Estonian War of Independence-Estonian troops engaged theforces of the Pro-German Government of Latvia near Cesis, Latvia,recapturing the area four days later.
  • 17 june 1940 - The three Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania fell under the occupation of the Soviet Union. The Soviet occupation of the Baltic States covers the period from the Soviet–Baltic mutual assistance pacts in 1939, to their invasion and annexation in 1940, to the mass deportations of 1941.
  • 21 July 1940 - The Soviet Union occupied Estonia Latvia and Lithuania.
  • 23 august 1989 - Singing Revolution-Approximately two million people joinedhands to form an over 600 km (370 mi) long human chain across theEstonian, Latvian and Lithuanian Soviet republics to demonstrate theirrespective desires for independence.
  • 04 may 1990 - The Declaration ‘On the Restoration of Independence of the Republic of Latvia’ was adopted on May 4, 1990 by the Supreme council of the Republic of Latvia. 4th May is celebrated as public holiday in Latvia for restoration of Independence Day from Soviet Union.
  • 04 may 1990 - The Supreme Soviet of the Latvian SSR declared the restorationof independence of Latvia, stating that the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pactand the Soviet occupation of Latvia in 1940 were illegal.
  • 02 September 1991 - The United States formally recognized the independence of Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia.
  • 04 September 1998 - The Soviet Union's radar station, Skronda-1, was closed in Latvia.
  • 21 November 2002 - Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia invited NATO to become a member of the organization.

Populated Cities of Latvia

Liepaga, Riga, Jelgava, Ventspils, Rezekne, Daugavpils, Jekabpils, Dundaga, Jaunjelgava, Ozolnieki, Alsunga, Kuldiga, Pavilosta, Pinki, Adazi, Kandava, Roja, Carnikava, Garkalne, Saulkrasti, Smarde, Mersrags, Talsi, Jurmala, Marupe, Ulbroka, Zilupe, Ludza, Dagda, Baltinava, Cibla, Karsava, Kraslava, Limbazi, Preili, Vecvarkava, Ilukste, Nica, Bauska, Vilaka, Livani, Aluksne, Jaunpils, Broceni, Rugaji, Riebini, Vilani, Varaklani, Ape, Madona, Jaunpiebalga, Lubana, Gulbene, Balvi, Akniste, Viesite, Cesvaine, Kegums, Vecpiebalga, Smiltene, Drabesi, Cesis, Ergli, Valka, Grobina, Strenci, Murmuiza, Mazsalaca, Aloja, Burtnieki, Koknese, Aizkraukle, Skriveri, Baldone, Vecumnieki, Sala, Plavinas, Rujiena, Naukseni, Liegi, Rauna, Aizpute, Koceni, Valmiera, Sigulda, Priekuli, Ogre, Ragana, Loja, Ropazi, Priekule, Iecava, Rucava, Pilsrundale, Salaspils, Ikskile, Lielvarde, Incukalns, Malpils, Olaine,

5 Neighbour countries of Latvia

Belarus [L] , Estonia [LM] , Lithuania [LM] , Russia [L] , Sweden [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »