Malta History, Geography, Economy and Important Events

✅ Published on January 26th, 2021 in Country Information, Europe Continent

Malta has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many things in this country that differentiate this country from other countries such as language, living, clothing, culture, religion, business. Lets learn about some such unique facts related to the Malta and important events related to Malta history, knowing that your knowledge will increase.

Malta Country Profile

FounderGiorgio Borg Olivier

Malta History

Malta became a British colony in 1813, serving as a station for ships and headquarters for the British Mediterranean fleet. It was besieged by the Axis powers during World War II and was an important Allied base for operations in North Africa and the Mediterranean Sea. The British Parliament passed the Malta Independence Act in 1964, giving Malta independence from the United Kingdom as the state of Malta, with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state and queen. The country became a republic in 1974. It has been a member state of the Commonwealth and the United Nations since independence, and joined the European Union in 2004; It became part of the Eurozone Monetary Union in 2008.

Malta Geography

Malta is an archipelago in the central Mediterranean Sea. The archipelago is located on the Malta Plateau where only the three largest islands - Malta (Malta), Gozo (Godex) and Comino (Kemmuna) are inhabited. A shallow shelf formed by the high points of a land bridge between Sicily and North Africa Disappeared as sea level after the last ice age. The archipelago lies on the African tectonic plate. Malta was considered an island in North Africa for centuries.

Malta Economy

Malta's economy is a highly industrialized, service-based economy. It is classified as an advanced economy by the International Monetary Fund and is considered a high-income country by the World Bank and an innovation-driven economy by the World Economic Forum. It is a member of the European Union and the Eurozone, which formally adopted the euro on 1 January 2008.

Malta Language

The Maltese language (Maltese: Malta) is one of the two constitutional languages of Malta, which became official, however, only in 1934, and was considered a national language.

Malta Important Facts

  • Malta, officially called the Republic of Malta, is a country south of the European continent.
  • Malta borders Iraq to the north and west and Saudi Arabia to the north.
  • Malta gained independence from the combined monarchy on 21 September 1964.
  • For the bravery of the country in World War II, Malta was awarded the George Cross by King George VI of the United Kingdom.
  • The total area of ​​Malta is 316 sq km. (122 sq mi).
  • The official language of Malta is Maltai and English.
  • The name of the currency of Malta is Euro.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of Malta in 2016 was 4.37 lakhs.
  • According to a 2013 United Nations report, Malta was the 48th happiest country on Earth.
  • There are three UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the country. These include seven megalithic temples, the successful Saflieni Hypogeum and Valletta.
  • Malta saw the second highest voter turnout in the world from 1960 to 1995 in the national lower house elections.
  • Malta has the fourth highest car ownership cost in the European Union.
  • Bus tickets in Malta can be purchased with the help of a card that can be loaded online.
  • The Maltese Cross University, established in the year 1592, is one of the oldest universities in the world and the only university in the country.

Malta Important History Events

  • 08 july 1283 - War of the Sicilian Vespers-An Aragonese fleet of galleys inflicted a crushing defeat on an Angevin fleet at Malta, forcing Charles I of Naples to postpone his plan to invade Sicily.
  • 06 july 1614 - The Ottoman Empire made a final attempt to conquer the islandof Malta, but were beaten back by the Knights Hospitaller.
  • 14 September 1723 - Grand Master Antonio Manol de Vilne inaugurated Fort Manol in Malta.
  • 04 September 1800 - The French troops at Veltata surrendered to the British troops, who were summoned at the invitation of the Maltese. The islands of Malta and Gozo became Malta protectors.
  • 08 march 1919 - During the Egyptian Revolution of 1919, British authoritiesarrested Saad Zaghloul and two others, exiling them to Malta.
  • 15 august 1942 - World War II-The tanker SS Ohio reached Malta, as part of anoperation to deliver much needed supplies during the Siege of Malta.
  • 21 September 1964 - Malta gained independence from Britain.
  • 05 December 1974 - The Republic of Malta was declared.
  • 08 March 2003 - Malta approved to join the European Union in a referendum.
  • 01 may 2004 - 2004 enlargement of European Union occurred on 1 May as Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia joined the EU. It was the largest single expansion of the European Union, in terms of territory, number of states and population.

Populated Cities of Malta

Valletta, Gharb, Nadur, Mosta, Mellieha, Kercem, Kalkara, Imsida, Gzira, Zebbug, Xghajra, Xaghra, Senglea, Safi, Lija, Xewkija, Paola, Rabat, Ghajnsielem, Fontana, Floriana, Fgura, Cospicua, Birkirkara, Vittoriosa, Balzan, Tarxien, Swieqi, Santa Venera, Santa Lucija, San Gwann, San Giljan, Marsa, Siggiewi, Dingli, Gharghur, Qala, Imdina, Imqabba, San Lawrenz, Sliema, Ta' Xbiex, Zebbug, Pembroke, Attard, Zejtun, Pieta, Kirkop, Marsaxlokk, Marsaskala, Imtarfa, Zurrieq, Gudja, Iklin, Victoria, Ghasri, Ghaxaq, Naxxar, Hamrun, Munxar, Qrendi, Saint Paul's Bay, Imgarr, Qormi, Luqa, Zabbar, Sannat, Birzebbuga,

3 Neighbour countries of Malta

Italy [M] , Libya [M] , Tunisia [M] ,
International Border Definition: L = Land Border (भूमि सीमा)| M = Maritime Border (समुद्री सीमा)

« Previous
Next »