South Africa has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of South Africa and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

South Africa Country Quick General Knowledge

CountrySouth Africa
CapitalPretoria (executive), Cape Town (legisla
CurrencySouth African rand
GroupAfrican Union, BRICS, G20
ConstitutionMay 31, 1910
Father/Founder of CountryNelson Mandela
National Anthem of CountryNational anthem of South Africa

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

Modern human settlement is about one million years old in South Africa. The majority of local people living in the area during the arrival of Europeans were Aborigines, who arrived from different regions of Africa thousands of years ago. The duel began in the 19th century with the discovery of diamonds and gold, known as the British-Buer War. Although the British had won the war on the Boars, it granted limited independence to South Africa in 1910 as a British Dominion. And finally in 1961 South Africa got Republic status.

Ever since it came to be called South Africa. The government continued the policy of apartheid despite protests within and outside the country's borders. The boycott began in the 20th century in protest against the country's oppressive policies. Years of protests and protests by black South Africans and their allies resulted in negotiations by the South African government in 1990, culminating in the end of the discriminatory policy and democratic elections in 1994. And finally the country rejoined the Commonwealth.

South Africa is located in the southernmost region of the continent of Africa, with a long coastline that extends over 2,500 km (1,553 mi) and along two oceans (South Atlantic and Indian). South Africa is the 24th largest country in the world with 1,219,912 km2 according to the United Nations Demographic Report. Mafadi in Drakensberg, South Africa, has a height of about 3,450 meters. It is the highest peak in South Africa. And the coldest place on the mainland in South Africa is Buffelsfontein in the Eastern Cape.
South Africa has a mixed economy and is the second largest in Africa after Nigeria. But despite this, South Africa is still burdened with relatively high rates of poverty and unemployment, and is also ranked among the top ten countries in the world for income inequality, measured by the Gini coefficient. In 2015, the richest people accounted for 71 percent of net wealth, while 60 percent of the poor had only 7 percent of net wealth. And for this reason, unlike most poor countries in the world, South Africa does not have a thriving informal economy. Only 15% of South African jobs are in the informal sector, compared to about half in India and about three-quarters in Indonesia. South Africa is ranked 113 in the Human Development Index, and seventh in the entire African continent. South Africa also has the most UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Africa.
Eleven languages have been given official language status in South Africa, including Afrikaans, South Dibili, North Sutho, Southern Sutho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Kosa and Zulu along with English. According to the number of languages spoken in any one country, it is the third country after Bolivia and India.
  • South Africa is a republic located in the south of the continent of Africa.
  • South Africa is bordered by Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe in the north, Mozambique, Swaziland in the northeast, and Lesotho.
  • South Africa gained independence from the United Kingdom (UK) on 31 May 1910, after which Nelson Mandela became the first black president of South Africa.
  • The total area of ​​South Africa is 1,221,037 sq km. (471,445 sq mi).
  • South Africa has 11 official languages, the following are Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, North Sotho, Sotho, Siswati, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu, due to these languages ​​it is also known as Rainbow Nation.
  • The currency of South Africa is named South African Rand.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of South Africa in 2016 was 5.59 crore.
  • The religion of most people in South Africa is Christian.
  • The climate of Southern Africa is temperate, as some parts of it are bordered by the Atlantic and Indian Oceans.
  • The Table Mountain of Southern Africa is one of the oldest mountains on the earth and its highest mountain is Mafadi.
  • South Africa is home to the world's heaviest flying bird Khori Bustard.
  • Rovos Rail of South Africa is the world's grandest train.
  • Orange River, the longest river in South Africa, with a length of 2,200 km.
  • Blue crane is the national bird of South Africa.
  • The national animal of South Africa is the springbok deer.
  • 06 April 1652 - The Dutch sailor Jaan Van Rebec established the first permanent European settlement in South Africa, eventually known as Captain Town.
  • 02 February 1659 - Jan van Riebeeck, the founder of Cape Town, produced the first bottle of South African wine .
  • 30 May 1815 - The East Indicon ship Ernstone was ruined during a storm in the Vannikreins near Cape Agulhas in the present South Africa with 372 lives.
  • 14 June 1816 - The United Kingdom, ruling the Cape Colony in South Africa, formally canceled Triston da Kunhartiyplago.
  • 14 August 1816 - The United Kingdom, ruling the Cape Colony in South Africa, formally canceled Triston da Kunhartiyplago.
  • 01 October 1829 - Inaugurated South African College in Cape Town.
  • 27 May 1874 - The first group of the dorsland trek, a series of blasts discovered by Boars in search of political freedom and better situation, left for South Africa to Angola.
  • 30 October 1888 - King Libengula of Matabeleland approved the Rood Consulation Togues of Cecil Rhodes, establishing the construction of the British South Africa company.
  • 04 December 1893 - The first Matabele War-A patrol was ambushed by the British South Africa company soldiers and were wiped out by more than 3,000 Matabele warriors.
  • 07 June 1893 - MK Gandhi made the first attempt to disobey Civil Disobedience. The effort was made in South Africa. At that time South Africa was also under British rule. People were facing racism. The underprivileged by the British was denied rights.
Botswana [L] , Lesotho [L] , Mozambique [LM] , Namibia [LM] , Swaziland [L] , Zimbabwe [L] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

South Africa FAQs:

The capital of South Africa is Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legisla.

The currency of South Africa is South African rand.

South Africa is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in South Africa are Xhosa, Zulu, English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, Swati, Xitsonga, Setswana, Tshivenda.

The national anthem of South Africa is "National anthem of South Africa".

South Africa country part of the African Union, BRICS, G20 like large International groups.

South Africa country founded on May 31, 1910.

Nelson Mandela is considered the founder/father of Modern South Africa.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  9606
  Post Category :  Africa Continent