South Sudan has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of South Sudan and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

South Sudan Country Quick General Knowledge

CountrySouth Sudan
CurrencySouth Sudanese pound
GroupAfrican Union
ConstitutionJuly 9, 2011
National Anthem of CountrySouth Sudan Oyee!

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

Southern Sudan was an autonomous region of the Republic of Sudan since 2005. After the partition of Sudan, Africa's largest country, the country came into existence on 9 July 2011, when the partition of Sudan was agreed upon after the referendum in South Sudan in January 2011. South Sudan gained independence after the referendum on 9 July 2011. In this referendum, a large number of people (98.83% of the total vote) voted for the creation of a new nation separate from Sudan. It is the 196th independent country in the world, the 193rd member of the United Nations, and the 55th country in Africa. In July 2012, the country signed the Geneva Conference. The nation has been facing internal conflict since its independence.
South Sudan is located in East-Central Africa, this country is Uganda in the south, Kenya in the north and Ethiopia in the west. The White Nile, flowing over Central Africa, represents a major geographical feature of the country. It is full of tropical forests, swamps and grasslands. The main river here is the White Nile, which runs through many parts of the country including Juba, the capital of South Sudan. Juba is the capital of South Sudan as well as the largest city in this country. It is located in the center of the country. This country is a country endowed with a natural oil perspective. Roads are visible elsewhere in a larger area than the combined area of ​​Spain and Portugal. This is the reason that the Nile River is the main source of transport and business here. The highest rainfall is seen between May and October, but the rainy season may begin in April and extend to November. On average, May is the hottest month.
The economy of South Sudan is one of the most underdeveloped countries in the world, and for this reason South Sudan has very few basic facilities and has the highest maternal mortality and female illiteracy rates in the world as of 2011. South Sudan exports timber to the international market. The region also has many natural resources such as petroleum, iron ore, copper, chromium ore, zinc, tungsten, mica, silver, gold, diamonds, hardwoods, limestone and hydropower. The country's economy, like many other developing countries, is heavily dependent on agriculture. South Sudan has a population of 12 million, a population of mostly Nilotic people, and is one of the youngest countries in the world, aged around 18 years.
The official language of South Sudan is English, and it was introduced during the colonial period. But South Sudan also has more than 60 indigenous languages. Indigenous languages ​​such as Dinka, Nuer, Bari and Zande are used in this country by most people, which is spoken by common people. The Arabic Pidgin language in Juba, the capital of South Sudan, is used by several thousand people as Juba Arvik. But the most spoken language among all these languages ​​is Nuer, because in the year 1982, this language was spoken by 740,000 people.
  • South Sudan is officially called the Republic of South Sudan, a landlocked country in the northeast of Africa.
  • South Sudan is bordered by the Republic of Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, Democratic Republic of Congo to the southwest and Central African Republic to the west.
  • South Sudan was separated from the Republic of Sudan by referendum on 9 July 2011, in this referendum, a large number of people (98.83% of the total vote) cast their vote and separated themselves from the Republic of Sudan.
  • South Sudan has a tropical climate, which has a similar climate that is due to high humidity and large amounts of rain after the dry season.
  • The total area of ​​South Sudan is 619,745 sq km. (239,285 sq mi).
  • English is the official language of South Sudan.
  • The name of the currency of South Sudan is South Sudanese Pound.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of South Sudan was 1.22 million in 2016.
  • The religion of most people in South Sudan is Christian.
  • The highest mountain in South Sudan is Mount Kinyeti, which has a height of 3,187 meters.
  • The longest river of South Sudan is the Nile River, which is the second largest river in the world, it has a length of 4,258 miles.
  • The national animal of South Sudan is the eagle.
  • The national bird of South Sudan is the African Fish Eagle.
  • On 15 December 2013 in South Sudan, the planetary war started which is still going on.
  • 09 July 2011 - The Sudan of Africa split into two. The southern part became the Republic of South Sudan.
  • 09 July 2011 - South Sudan declared independence and separated from Sudan. It is a landlock country located in northeastern Africa. Juba is the largest city in the country and also its capital. Nowadays the country is going through civil war and political change.
  • 08 October 2011 - For refugees, the United Nations High Commissioner opened a new refugee camp in Western Ethiopia for refugees of Sudan and South Sudan.
  • 25 December 2013 - The Pope Francis gives his Urbi et orbi speech (for the city and world of Rome), a Pope address and the apostolic blessings dating back to ancient Rome; The Pope called for peace in Syria and South Sudan.
  • 23 July 2013 - The entire government of South Sudan, which includes its vice -president, Reich Machar, was fired by the President of South Sudan, Salwa Keer Mayardit.
Central African Republic [L] , Democratic Republic of the Congo [L] , Ethiopia [L] , Kenya [L] , Sudan [L] , Uganda [L] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

South Sudan FAQs:

The capital of South Sudan is Juba.

The currency of South Sudan is South Sudanese pound.

South Sudan is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in South Sudan are English, Arabic, Dinka, Nuer, Zande.

The national anthem of South Sudan is "South Sudan Oyee!".

South Sudan country part of the African Union like large International groups.

South Sudan country founded on July 9, 2011.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  9796
  Post Category :  Africa Continent