Mauritius has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Mauritius and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Mauritius Country Quick General Knowledge

CapitalPort Louis
CurrencyMauritian rupee
GroupAfrican Union
ConstitutionMarch 12, 1968
Father/Founder of CountrySir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam
National Anthem of CountryMotherland

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

The earliest inscriptions from Mauritius date to the early 10th century, coming from the context of Dravidian (Tamil) and Austronesian sailors. Portuguese sailors first came here in 1507 and established a pilgrimage on this uninhabited island and then left the island. In 1598, three ships from Holland who went on a voyage to Spice Island (Spice Island) wandered here during a cyclone. He named the island Mauritius in honor of his Nassau prince Morris. In 1638, the Dutch settled the first permanent settlement here. The Dutch left the island a few decades later due to the harsh climatic conditions with cyclones and frequent damage to the settlement. In 1965, Britain (United Kingdom) separated the Chagos Archipelago from Mauritius. They used to establish such a British Indian Ocean region so that they could use islands of strategic importance for various purposes of defense cooperation with the United States. Mauritius gained independence in 1968 and the country became a republic in 1992.
This island is known for its natural beauty. The total land area of ​​the country is 2,040 km2 (790 sq mi). It is the 170th largest country in the world by size. The Republic of Mauritius is formed on the island of Mauritius and several outlying islands. The island is surrounded by more than 150 km (100 mi) of white sandy beaches, and the lagoon is protected from the open sea by the world's third largest coral reef that encircles the island. Some off the coast of Mauritius are 49 uninhabited islands and islands, many of which have been declared natural reserves for endangered species.
Since independence from Britain in 1968, Mauritius has evolved from a low-income, agro-based economy to a high-income diversified economy based on tourism, textiles, sugar and financial services. The economic history of Mauritius since independence has been called the Mauritian miracle and the success of Africa. In recent years, information and communications technology, seafood, hospitality and property development, healthcare, renewable energy and education and training have emerged as important sectors, attracting substantial investment from local and foreign investors. Mauritius has one of the largest special economic zones in the world, and in 2012 the government announced its intention to develop the maritime economy.
The constitution of Mauritius does not refer to any official language. The constitution only mentions that the official language of the National Assembly is English, however, any member can address the chair in French. English and French are generally considered the national and common languages of Mauritius, as they are the languages of government administration, court and business.
  • The Republic of Mauritius is an island nation located in the Indian Ocean southeast of the coast of Africa, to the west of which is the island of Madagascar.
  • In 1598, three Holland ships that sailed on a trip to Spice Island wandered the way and named it Mauritius in honor of their Nassau prince Morris.
  • Mauritius was annexed by France in 1715 and declared it a colony, and named it Isle de France (island of France) and declared it independent on 12 March 1968.
  • The total area of ​​Mauritius is 2,040 sq km. (787 sq mi).
  • The official language of Mauritius is English and other recognized languages ​​are Mauritius Creole, French and Hindi.
  • The name of the currency of Mauritius is the Mauritian Rupee.
  • According to the World Bank, Mauritius had a total population of 1.26 million in 2016.
  • People of different religions live in Mauritius, predominantly Hindu, Christian, and Islam, this is the only African country where Hindus are in majority.
  • The culture of Mauritius is a mixed culture, due to its former colonization.
  • Mauritius has a tropical climate, which is controlled by winds from the southeast.
  • The national bird and animal dodo of Mauritius is a flightless bird, which is now almost extinct.
  • The highest mountain on the island of Mauritius is the Piton de la Petite Riviere Noire (Little Black River Peak), which has a height of 828 meters.
  • The red color in the flag of Mauritius symbolizes the struggle for freedom, the blue color of the Indian Ocean, the yellow color of the new light of freedom and the green color symbolizes its greenery throughout the year.
  • 17 September 1598 - Sailors from the Netherlands discovered Mauritius.
  • 02 November 1834 - On this day a ship named Atlas reached Mauritius with Indian laborers. Which is celebrated as the immigrant day there.
  • 01 February 1835 - Slavery was abolished in Mauritius.
  • 08 November 1965 - The United Kingdom divided the Chaogo Islands from Mauritiusand and divided the islands of the Aladrabara, Farakwahar and Desarch of Seychelles to construct the British Indian Ocean region.
  • 12 March 1968 - Mauritius gained independence from British rule.
  • 29 June 1976 - Seychelles became independent of the United Kingdom. Seychelles, officially, is an archipelago in the Republic of Seychelles Indian Ocean. 115-The country, whose capital is Victoria, is located 1,500 km (932 mi) from the mainland South East Africa. Other island countries and regions include Zanzibar in the west and Comoros, Myat, Madagascar, Runion and Mauritius in the south.
  • 28 November 1987 - South African Airways flight 295 caught fire on a horrific in-flight and crashed into the Indian Ocean east of Mauritius, killing 159 people.
France [M] , Madagascar [M] , Seychelles [M] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Mauritius FAQs:

The capital of Mauritius is Port Louis.

The currency of Mauritius is Mauritian rupee.

Mauritius is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in Mauritius are English, French, Creole, Hindi, Urdu, Hakka, Bojpoori.

The national anthem of Mauritius is "Motherland".

Mauritius country part of the African Union like large International groups.

Mauritius country founded on March 12, 1968.

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam is considered the founder/father of Modern Mauritius.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  14344
  Post Category :  Africa Continent