Seychelles has a different place in the geography of the world. There are many such things in this country that separate this country from other countries such as language, living style, dress, culture, religion, business. Let us know about some such unique facts related to the country of Seychelles and important events related to history, knowing which your knowledge will increase.

Seychelles Country Quick General Knowledge

CurrencySeychellois rupee
GroupAfrican Union
ConstitutionJune 29, 1976
National Anthem of CountryKoste Seselwa, (Join together all Seychellois)

Read Also: Name of the country, their capital and currency List

The Seychelles country (archipelago) was discovered after 1500 AD by the European people and many Europeans lived here for the next 150 years. But in 1756 AD, France captured these islands. And then all these islanders were named Seychelles which was named after a French finance minister. When the British defeated Emperor Napoleon of France in 1814, these islands were captured by the British. But in 1976, these islands and people got complete independence from the British.
Seychelles has an area of ​​about 459 square kilometers in all 115 islands of the country. Mahe is the largest island in the country. The area of ​​which is 157 square kilometers means it is 34% of the total area of ​​all the islands, and on this island Victoria is the capital of this country. Only a few islands live here, with a total population of 77,000. Which is 81% of the country's population. Most of the islands of this country do not have any population at all. And these islands are full of natural resources.
Since independence in 1976, per capita production has increased to nearly seven times the old subsistence level. The development has been led by the tourism sector, which employs about 30% of the labor force compared to agriculture, which today employs about 3% of the labor force. Despite the development of tourism, farming and fisheries continue to employ some people, as are the industries that make coconut and vanilla. As of 2013, the main export products are processed fish (60%) and non-fillet frozen fish (22%).
French and English are the official languages ​​with Seychellois Creole, a French-based Creole language. Seychellois Creole is the most widely spoken native language and the country's national language. Nowadays, the Seychellois Creole is often given with English words and phrases. About 91% of the population are native speakers of Seychelles Creole, 5.1% of English and 0.7% of French. Most business and official meetings are held in English and almost all official websites are in English. The National Assembly business is conducted in Creole, but the laws are passed and published in English.
  • Seychelles is officially called the Republic of Seychelles, an archipelagic nation of 115 islands located in the Indian Ocean.
  • The total area of ​​Seychelles is 451 sq km. (174 sq mi).
  • The official languages ​​of Seychelles are English, French and Seychelles Creole.
  • The Seychelles gained independence from the United Kingdom (UK) on 29 June 1976.
  • The Seychelles currency is named Seychelles Rupee.
  • According to the World Bank, the total population of Seychelles in 2016 was 94,677 thousand.
  • The religion of most people in Seychelles is Christian.
  • Seychelles has a tropical rain forest climate, which is quite similar, though quite humid, as the islands are small due to which the temperature is low throughout the year.
  • Among the main ethnic groups in the Seychelles, the dominant castes are Creoles and British.
  • The highest peak in the Seychelles is Morne Seychellois, which is 905 meters (2,969 ft) in height.
  • The Seychelles national bird is the Seychelles black parrot.
  • 08 November 1965 - The United Kingdom divided the Chaogo Islands from Mauritiusand and divided the islands of the Aladrabara, Farakwahar and Desarch of Seychelles to construct the British Indian Ocean region.
  • 29 June 1976 - Seychelles became independent of the United Kingdom. Seychelles, officially, is an archipelago in the Republic of Seychelles Indian Ocean. 115-The country, whose capital is Victoria, is located 1,500 km (932 mi) from the mainland South East Africa. Other island countries and regions include Zanzibar in the west and Comoros, Myat, Madagascar, Runion and Mauritius in the south.
  • 29 June 1976 - The day is celebrated as Independence Day in this country since the Seychelles Islands gained independence.
  • 27 February 2012 - The cruise ship Costa Allegra, a left adrift in the Indian Ocean near the Seychelles, following an engine room fire.
Comoros [M] , France [M] , Madagascar [M] , Mauritius [M] , Tanzania [M] ,
Definition of international border: L = Land Border | M = Maritime Border

Seychelles FAQs:

The capital of Seychelles is Victoria.

The currency of Seychelles is Seychellois rupee.

Seychelles is the part of Africa continent.

The languages spoken in Seychelles are English, French, Seselwa (a creole).

The national anthem of Seychelles is "Koste Seselwa, (Join together all Seychellois)".

Seychelles country part of the African Union like large International groups.

Seychelles country founded on June 29, 1976.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  10278
  Post Category :  Africa Continent